The Drama of Chicken Baths

in Liketu2 years ago



cl7rsfyv300e815m7a0hghkn8_chillin1.webp
cl7rsg14q00de0pm79osq2hb8_chillin2.webp
cl7rsg3au00ey0wm77pl43u42_chicken1.webp
cl7rsg5k700eo0im75z564j5h_chicken2.webp
cl7rsg7zv00f921m7675p2v4q_chickens.webp

I always spend my nights out in the backyard of my homestead. Hanging out with the animals and my puppies along with making sure they have everything they need such as food, water, shelter and protection. It's become a nightly routine that I've come to love. It's one of the best ways to relax and close out a day viewing the sunset.

The other day I noticed one of my hens had taken a dirt bath! She was covered brown compared to her sisters who are white leghorns. I let it go for a few days figuring she would bath herself off but she never did and so operation "chicken bath" was born. I got my gloves and walked into the chicken run eyeing up this dirty chicken. I swear she knew what was coming as she took off and started running from me lol. She eventually found herself wedged between a thick dirt/root pile and the fence only to become trapped. I still don't know how she managed to wedger herself back that far. I slowly started to cut away the branches and scoop the dirt away as I gently helped her out of the predicament she had gotten herself into.

After getting her out she still tried to run but I was able to get her pinned down safely and took this picture of her. I'm happy to report she's all clean and back to "foraging" (I say that word lossy as they aren't the best foragers lol) and living her best chicken life.

Short side story
I've been leaving the chicken run open so the chickens can free range. Well, yesterday I got no eggs and was like what the heck? Thought maybe they laid them random spots again… today I found Kintla(my pup) inside the coop grabbing the eggs from the boxes and eating them 💀😂 She’s a survivor

Have an amazing day!
Gubba Homestead


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

this sister is so beautiful

Congratulations @gubbahomestead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ in Amsterdam is next week. Attend and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Beautiful chickens! Happy homestead!

You have something I absolute love... The smile, gorgeous. Thanks for this post!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @gubbahomestead.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

You have a lot of animals, they're close to you, they look cute when they eat food, my father is having too a lot of chicken here😩