Strawberries | Comfort Food

in Liketu2 years ago



cl4887rmp00oc1xmj4ynj2p5w_IMG_20220514_113608294_BURST000_COVER_COMP.jpg
cl4889iw000ms2amja0am4jbg_IMG_20220608_140456639_1.jpg
cl488bm2x00pf0xmj8n9sdswf_IMG_20220608_135554244.jpg
cl488e3n300mv2amjf8w1a3tr_IMG_20220609_134722609.jpg

Excuses!

It's been a few days since I wrote a blog. But I had a good excuse. Well, I mustn't exaggerate… I even had more good excuses. What about the fact that I had to go to the dentist. If you know that I have had an extreme fear of the dentist all my life, then you understand that my mind was not on blogging. First, that dentist visit had to be behind me. Believe it or not, but that is something that can really keep me awake for a week. When such a visit is over, then I am also completely devastated and I really have to recover. It doesn't matter what needs to be done. In fact, I've actually never had to deal with seriously painful treatments in my entire life, except for the one time that a wisdom tooth had to be surgically removed by an oral surgeon. Even that had positive effects afterwards.

Dogs & The Garden

Well, that was one thing that kept me busy. And that was not so much fun, but the reason was of course that I mainly had to keep myself busy so as not to fall into worrying. So that meant a lot of spending time with the dogs. Lots of work in the garden. And the garden, that is currently a feast for my eyes!

We have had strawberry plants for a number of years, but this year is the first year that we have bought special containers for the strawberries. These containers hang in a rack so that the strawberries can hang over the edges. Strawberries that hang freely do not rot, unlike strawberries that ripen on moist sand. We wanted to give it a try, see if it would really make much of a difference. And I can tell you… YES it really makes a big difference.

Delicious Strawberries

It's just a joy for my eyes to get out and see those beautiful red strawberries hanging, waiting for me to pick them and sink my teeth into them. Delicious! I like a lot of fruit, but strawberries, oh man… that's seriously one of my favorite fruits. In recent years I have not been able to enjoy strawberries as much. The few strawberries we had ourselves gave some, but not enough to even think about baking a cake, or even eating a well-filled bowl of yogurt with strawberries. So we had to wait until the day that it would work with the strawberries. And that's NOW!

Our summer queens are doing great.

When I finished yesterday at the dentist, I went home. Dogs are happy of course, and then we went into the garden. The strawberries just looked at me and finally I was allowed to relax again, I had survived it again, the dentist was over again. So time for..

A bowl of comfort food!

Freshly picked, unsprayed strawberries in a bowl of Greek yogurt with stevia powder for the sweet touch!
Yes the Stevia is my sugar substitute, and 100% natural. No, I don't use this every day. I'm looking good. Life is expensive enough already. Stevia is certainly not the cheapest sweetener, but yes. Occasionally you have to treat yourself. I'm not a fan of sugar, but it's nice with a bowl of yogurt with strawberries. To still have the sweetness, I use Stevia instead.

A few more fun facts:

  • Strawberries are special. They taste sweet, but contain very little fructose! Ideal!
  • Strawberries are full of antioxidants and vitamin C
  • Strawberries contain anthocyanins, which are the dyes that give the strawberry its red color. Blueberries also contain this. But the great thing about these anthocyanins is that they are good for your short-term memory.
  • Strawberries are rich in quercetin. This substance can help you to reduce or even eliminate symptoms that occur with an allergy, such as red eyes, itchy eyes and a runny nose. In addition, it can also help to renew poorly functioning cells.
  • The ellagic acid in strawberries ensures a fresh, young radiant skin
  • One last fact, strawberries contain a lot of nutrients, but very few calories. They can therefore be used to lose weight quickly.

It looks like my bowl of comfort food wasn't such a bad idea after all! I think for the next few days/weeks/very often I'll be eating healthy comfort food!

Have a great day!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Nice! I love strawberries and I was super happy to find a big box here for just 1,27 I think it was.. They haven't had them in days now though. Time to hunt for a new one as now I'm having cravings thanks! :)

Lol ... I hope you're able to find them for a nice price to fulfill those cravings.

Wow, they look tasty.
I love a bowl of strawberries but wasn't aware of the various benefits to health and weight loss. I'm gonna buy some organic strawberries today I think inspired by this post.

P.s. I saw you on listnerds. Will follow ur account so that I see you in my hive feed as well 🙂

Oh, believe me. They taste even better than they look!

Thank you for the follow, Listnerds is bringing great things for those who are open to discover new content.

Wow those are lovely shots you shared its really njce

Thank you for the compliment for the shots. They are nothing too special ... but the strawberries, they are special. Lol.

Oh I absolutely love strawberries!!! Enjoy!!

Thank you! I'm enjoying them every day! And it really seems that everyone is loving strawberries.

I really like strawberries so thanks for the reminder about how good they are nutritionally. I like them with some plain nonfat Greek yogurt. And I drizzle a little raw honey on them too.
!CTP
!ALIVE

Owww, drizzling honey on those strawberries is also delicious and brings even more healthy benefits as honey has her own benefits. Thank you for your visit and leaving a comment.

Have some !PIZZA

You're welcome and thank you for the !PIZZA, @hetty-rowan! Enjoy your weekend.😀

@hetty-rowan! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Afternoon and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

confort food is confortable :))

It really is, thanks for the visit! Been a while since I saw you ...

well I don't comment that often unless I have something really silly to say :P

Lol ... yes, but you're not telling me that you didn't have anything silly to say before?

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 109 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
hetty-rowan tipped lisamgentile1961 (x1)
@lisamgentile1961(1/5) tipped @hetty-rowan (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

I love strawberries especially freshly picked. I am going to have some on my cereal this morning. Thanks for sharing.

Oh, yes fresly picked strawberries are the best. On cereal they also taste delicious!