hike to Punta de Teno

in Liketu2 years ago



cl8hhatvf01l31ckca6360dlq_IMG_1111.webp
cl8hhazdl01jw1skc6r5r5j99_IMG_1062.webp
cl8hhb63301kj0hkc7m5c7c3o_IMG_1124.webp
cl8hhbd8k01jy1skc93p78ego_IMG_1095.webp
cl8hhbkup01kl0hkc93ji7zg6_IMG_1012.webp
cl8hhbshk01jw0vkc9wm82cts_IMG_1091.webp
cl8hhbz2a01jm24kcfyij7npc_IMG_1003_2.webp
cl8hhc6sr01k414kc35tebh5s_IMG_1002.webp

Good day to you, Hivers!
Today, I'm taking you for a hike to a very special place in Tenerife - Punta de Teno, the westernmost part of the island.

For the place itself, I'm gonna come up with another post very soon (I don't want to spam you with pictures), so today, I will just focus on the journey there. Because that is something.

I started the hike in the mountain village of El Palmar, located in a beautiful valley surrounded by mountains (you can see it clearly in the last picture). It was a beautiful sunny morning and the mountains in front of me were keeping the clouds from entering the valley I was in. It was really magical.

From El Palmar, I started climbing up the mountain. And the higher I was, the more beautiful the views were until I could see the whole valley and the beautiful Teide volcano in the distance. Then I walked over the edge of the mountain and found myself in a completely different surrounding - the laurel forests (unfortunately they are very difficult to photograph with a phone so I didn't add any pictures from there).

I walked through the forests until I found myself in the mountain settlement of Teno Alto. From there, the surroundings changed completely once again, and I found myself in an arid, dry & windy place. I felt like I was somewhere on African savannas... until I started descending to Punta de Teno and the surroundings changed again: this time, they reminded me much more of Texas or Mexico, or at least my idea about those places (never been there. yet.). When I finally saw the lighthouse in Punta de Teno (see the first picture), I still had a long way down to go and then a little more on the road. In total, the hike took approximately 10 kilometers and was one of the most diverse hikes I've done in Tenerife, although in many places around the island, the surroundings change rather quickly. Maybe that's one of the reasons why I love Tenerife (and the Canary Islands in general) so much.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Congratulations @itsmikyhere! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results