The Day Thou Gavest, Lord Has Ended...on a High!

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)

No idea how I came up with that title but it is the work of an aetheist madman and genius, I do declare!

Wat Sr Iam (sister temple to Wat Wil Iam) is a temple especially dedicated to funerals and is one of a number of similar temples that service the 10 million population of Bangkok. We were in attendance on day 5 of 7 for the daily funeral service of one of Fon's great aunts whom I don't think I've ever actually met. Always a bonus when you don't know the person who died as it removes the emotion for the event! You still have to listen to an hour of monotonic, chanting monks that leaves you with the worse tinnitus imaginable and takes hours to quell, however.

"What are the actually saying?" I asked the wife, trying to feign some interest.

"How the fuck would I know?." She replied in her gentle, sing-song Thai accent. "It's in some form of sanskrit.).

We went on day 5 as the previous day was the day when the coffin is opened and with the body still covered, its arm and hand are wrenched from under the cover for the mourners to file past and pour a few drops of Buddhist holy water on it. The wife doesn't like that part of the procedings but it actually gave me a great idea for a 'candid camera' style game show involving replacing the body with a live person whose hand moves when it gets water dripped on it that I'm sure I could sell to Japanese TV,

I also had a thought as we arrived, that I could moonlight as a hearse with my new car but there isn't really a procession of the coffin here. The body goes from wherever it died, straight into a coffin and off to a temple in the back of a van and that's it.

The temple has 10 halls or rooms and can thus keep 10 funerals running concurrenty at a time but the place was still fairly quiet as our service was being held early evening due to a lot of the attendees travelling from far and wide. Not everyone has to show up on every day, thank god...or Buddha, except the lady's husband and kids. What an awful, prolonged affair it must be for them, but it is how it is. Family pride is at stake. The more days and more monks there are, the more respectful and prestigious its meant to be. Usual religious bollocks.

As we were there early, there was tea and coffee in the room and a few boxes of snacks to nibble as we loitered around, chatting to distant relatives as we waited for the chanting to start but we were really happy to see one of Fon's cousins turn up, and that could only mean one thing. At least the three of us were going for a few beers after the service! That would of course have to wait a little while longer, as is customary at weddings in the west and funerals in the east, we all had to line up for family photos in front of the coffin.

1-2-3 Smileeeeeeee

Ng-Song-Sam Yimmmmmmm

And then, it was finally time to go to a local bar for some proper 'refreshment'. Every cloud really does have a silver lining!



cl8il8an401qw1ckcfscsd2hi_IMG_20220916_155813.webp

It is actually a quite well kept temple. Not one you'd visit as a tourist but for people visiting for a funeral it looked fine.

cl8il8j5c01p524kc9vji9cya_IMG_20220916_154217.webp

As you arrived, you could buy all manner of joss sticks and candles to light, as well as flowers and you just dropped the money into one of the honesty boxes scattered around the room.

cl8il8tbc01pw0hkc01qe508p_IMG_20220916_154156.webp

Here is Buddha, surrounded by statues of some 'famous' dead monks which were shining as if they were wrapped in cellophane...which they actually could have been!

cl8il8wi801p10vkc0v5x8ej6_IMG_20220916_154150.webp

I'm not sure why Buddha looked as though he has a bowling ball in his hand or a shot put. I'll leave that to the conspiracy theorists to discuss.

cl8il93ve01pq14kc9w2p3awa_IMG_20220916_154214.webp

cl8il9b3l01p00okc0sut2qqw_IMG_20220916_155852.webp

cl8il9jsp01rx2gkc0yxn14t2_IMG_20220916_170726.webp

cl8il9r9b01pd1skc56h32hai_IMG_20220916_170733.webp

cl8ila4ie01qy1ckc7feh6oxc_1664093444625.webp

cl8ilaljd01p30vkcehqq6o5u_1664093444642.webp

We all had to stand in front of the flowers and coffin and have photos taken. The photographer even asked us to smile! Don't even try to work that out, TiT (This is Thailand!).


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Love them pics but I think I love the idea of a Japanese TV show picking up the hand prank 🤣🤣

It's been rare to see blue skies here for the last few months. It's been wet and cold, down to 23c tonight which is ridiculous !

I don't why I thought of that game show that used to be featured on Clive James on TV...

Trust your week has started well young man :-)

23 degrees!?! No one can live at that low a temp surely 🤣🤣

Clive James, that would have been Endurance! I loved those clips from that. They were obsessed with trying to get the contestants to piss themselves!!

The week is starting quite well, cheers mate!

I have not seen a temple as amazing as this my dear friend Nathen. As I was looking on the shots, I was really wondering where it is but I am thinking that it is Thailand because of the cultural displays. And then I finally read the last note that says, “This is Thailand.” I was right.

I wish I could visit Thailand too because my best friend is working there as an educator. It has been a while since she left Ph. By the way, thanks for taking me in this beautiful temple. I felt I am walking here with your amazing shots. @nathen007

@pinkchic you should come over and visit your friend, especially as it's school holidays starting next week. Cebu Pacific fly in daily! Thailand is much cheaper than PH.

But,

I saw you name appear and suddenly realised how awful and insensitive of me posting this right now and I apologise profusely. I hope you are your family are coping with your pain.

Best wishes and sorry for being so bloody thoughtless.

Aww, how sweet you are my dear friend. No worries, nathen. I so understand you. I was truly amazed by your great shots. I really love Thailand. Have safe travels and enjoy your travels my friend.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @nathen007.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

The traditions that every society has and the way in which they perceive death, how much more likely the death of a loved one, shows a lot about its character! The funeral, but other religious events here in Greece is also an opportunity to demonstrate the social and economic status! So we look alike!

Ps: In Greece we have an expression "there is no wedding without crying and no wedding without laughter".