Cityscape Photography: touring around the center of Prague

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Hivean friends and followers!

It has been almost 3 months since we relocated from the beautiful Polish city of Krakow to the no less beautiful Czech city of Prague but we haven´t actually got to spend much time in the center yet. I think we have only been there like two or three times since the move but that´s ok with me as I´m not a big fan of crowded touristy places anyway :)

This summer, however, it seems that the hustle and bustle of the Prague city center is somewhat smaller than usually so the occasional visits that we pay to this part of the city are tolerable to me. In fact, I kind of enjoyed the last one :) We took advantage of the nice and mostly sunny (but not too hot) weather last Saturday to check out some of the most popular spots in the city center and it actually turned out to be a pretty nice tour that also gifted me with tons of cool photos that you will see in my future posts here on my Hive blog ;)

I´m going to share the first batch of the pictures with you today. This post is a compilation of pretty much random pictures from a variety of well known places such as the National Theater, the Strahov Monastery, the Prague Castle, the Petrin Hill, the Charles Bridge etc. You will also see photos of several famous Prague statues and sculptures as well as some impressive Vltava River views. Without further ado, please enjoy these shots that I took while touring around the city center :)


IMG_20220716_121416.jpg


IMG_20220716_121946.jpg


treti.jpg


IMG_20220716_134931.jpg


paty.jpg


IMG_20220716_145028.jpg


IMG_20220716_140529.jpg


IMG_20220716_144208.jpg


IMG_20220716_124528.jpg


IMG_20220716_143950.jpg


IMG_20220716_142453.jpg


mimino.jpg


IMG_20220716_122508.jpg


IMG_20220716_135305.jpg


IMG_20220716_140837.jpg


sochy.jpg


IMG_20220716_144825.jpg


IMG_20220716_123052.jpg


IMG_20220716_143622.jpg


IMG_20220716_144102.jpg


IMG_20220716_124145.jpg


I hope liked the pictures. As I already mentioned, I took many photos that day and you can expect three more different posts featuring them. One of them will be dedicated to the stunning panoramic views of Prague that you can enjoy from the viewpoints located around the Strahov Monastery and the Prague Castle and the remaining two posts will show you the monumental St. Vitus Cathedral (one from the outside and the other one from the inside) so fans of amazing views and medieval architecture lovers should stay tuned for these upcoming posts ;)


You can also check out this post on Liketu, a new photography-based platform built on Hive :)




This post was created by me for the Hive blockchain exclusively. All rights reserved.



7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmivwA3A1QLkipSxWEChTncCX3jvtMRvcYq1rkYyx9mzv36Uegna899gd6PWdp.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about Nature, Animals, Ecology, Crypto, Traveling, Sport, Photography and discovering secrets and beauties of the World, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on hiving, guys! :)

Sort:  

This is simply wonderful and I am glad you made your way down to the city center. You know that Prague is one of my favorite cities that I would go back to in a New York minute!

The statue of the faceless crawling baby outside the Museum of Modern Art always creeps me out. LOL I will say that I love all the statues and sometimes you happen upon them around the city and it used to surprise me. Perhaps because the statues we have here in the US are usually reserved for a special place, except of course in the Northeast, it is where the US began and much of their beginnings are very European in so many ways.

The Memorial to the victims of Communism was touching to me. One man is represented there, standing on a flight of stairs, each statue in a different stage of the person's demise. The statues appear more broken, the further away they are from you - lost limbs and their bodies breaking open. This was supposed to symbolize how political prisoners were affected by Communism. In a devastatingly inhumane way. I think it was in Lesser Town. (Did you get to the John Lennon wall there?)

The architecture was amazing and your pictures and I look forward to more, especially Wenceslas Square. I went before it was pretty once again, and still, the square took your breath away. It remains one of the prettiest sights in Europe, and the architecture is stunning.

At the risk of getting too wordy, let me just say that I truly enjoyed the view from your lens.

Very much! Thank you!

Thank you for what obviously is the comment of the day (and the week and the month too probably haha!) I know you visited Prague (many times I guess) but I´m still really impressed by your excellent knowledge of this city. As far as I know, all the facts you mentioned here are correct and I thank you for adding all this great info to this post, now it definitely feels more complete :) It´s not often that we go down there to the center but when we do and take some pictures there, it really makes me happy to see people like the collections and leave such a nice feedback here.

Have a lovely weekend Denise! A very warm greeting from currently very hot Prague! :)

Lovely Prague!!😍

Tvoje Praženka ;)

Your photos are unexpectedly touching; they remind me of my only visit to Prague on a school trip ages ago. It was my first trip abroad. We stayed in Prague for one day, so we only managed to see the old town. I remember walking on the Charles Bridge and a charming street with tiny, colorful houses. I also remember the word "zmrzlina" 😉

I realized I had forgotten what it was like to be 17...

Glad your memories of that trip to Prague are still so vivid :) Zmrzlina, hehe... When living in Krakow, me and my girlfriend actually started to use the Polish word "lody" instead, we found this word very cool (literally) :D

I absolutely get your hesitation to visit the centre. I used to (almost) hate Prague for being so touristy but now, it really feels much more pleasant... Although I feel a little sorry for people that lost businesses or are struggling because there are fewer tourists now. Lovely pictures, thanks for sharing!

Jo, vnímám to podobně ;) A dík! :)

This is amazing. The city looks nice. It's surely a place to be.

As for those pictures, haha... I'm seeing some stuff that can scare shit out of someone if they come across it at a wrong time. Haha.

Amazing pictures by the way. Thanks for sharing those.

Thanks for your kind comment! Yeah, some of the sculptures here can be scary, like those creepy faceless babies :D But the locals are already used to them and they don´t consider them scary anymore. Visitors love to take pictures with them though :)

Stunning views..the buildings are simply similar to Vienna and they were built during the Habsburg rule...so rich in culture and stunning architecture.

Thank you :) Yeah, some of the buildings date back to the era you mentioned but there are also some much older than that. The St. Vitus Cathedral for example, that I´m going to post about soon, was founded as early as in the 10th century ;)

That´s nteresting to know! Thanks.

Beautiful selection of photographs @phortun 😁😎 happy to hear it wasn’t too busy when you visited those parts.
What a variety of statues you found. So many. Some are cool 😎
Great views of the river and the buildings are just stunning. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to the other ones 😁
Have a wonderful midweek today 👋🏻☀️

Thank you for your kind comment as always @littlebee4! :) This was actually just a little sample, I cannot wait to start working on more elaborate posts dedicated to more specific locations and landmarks of the city ;) There is so much cool stuff here to be seen and shared with you guys :)

You are welcome @phortun 😁 anytime!
That sounds really cool… I keep my eyes open 😎 don’t want to miss them.
A city we must visit for sure one day. 😉
Do enjoy today further.

Thank you and likewise! :)

Thank you @phortun 😎

In fact, I also wonder how a city Krakow is together with Prague. My next destination will likely be Prague. Therefire, I can visit Krakow as well. What I have seen from your photos is that Prague seems more colourful than Budapest.

Thanks for the beautiful photos mate, have a good day.

I spent some years in both of these cities (Prague and Krakow) so I can compare and I would say they are both equally beautiful, interesting and rich in culture and history but Prague is a bit more touristy and expensive, which is why I actually like Krakow more ;)

I'm just as happy as you are that you have a huge amount of photos :)) Because I will see much better quality pictures 😊 Pull the statues open, really great phortun. I congratulate you my friend 💪🎊

Thanks buddy! :) I´m glad you enjoyed this little photo collection and I hope you will like the upcoming Prague posts too :)

Buddy :)) I really love this word. I will call you buddy from now on :)) I'm looking forward to your new content, you can be sure 🙂

All the photos are great. I've never seen Prague so beautiful. My girlfriend had been to Prague before and she sent me some photos. These are definitely more beautiful than hers. I definitely have to visit. Thank you so much for sharing. I will follow you and look forward to your next Prague post.

Thank you very much for this kind feedback! Prague is very photogenic and you can get even much better pictures there than this. This was just a little sample of shots taken with my old phone but I´m really glad you liked them and I hope you will enjoy the next Prague post too ;)

I was in Prague two times, but I had appointments so I had no single minute to go through the city. I only saw my hotel and my clinic 🙈

Oh really? What a pity. What part of Germany do you live in? Shouldn´t be too far to Prague from there so hopefully, you will get to check out the city too next time :)

It's too far for just a day trip. I live near Frankfurt.

I see. So maybe for a weekend or something :)

We have our dog and hotels where you can stay with dogs aren't that easy to find. Plus we have no time for vacations. Always working working working so that our dream can be true 😊

I see. The legendary German discipline and morale :) I hope your dreams will come true, no matter what they are :)

Oh, it isn't true anymore. The Germans are extremely lazy now... 🙄
Thanks 😊

@tipu curate 5

Thank you man! I appreciate your support so much! :)

These photos make me remember my trip to the beautiful city of Prague.

It was a pleasure to bring those memories back to you :) More Prague posts coming soon so stay tuned ;)

Prague is nice. The city is so vibrancy and has its own uniqueness !

Right. They say it´s one of the most beautiful cities in Europe and I can confirm :)

Thank you very much for the tour, the capital of the Czech Republic is truly beautiful. I love the buildings the most.

Thanks buddy! If you like the pictures of the buildings, you will love the post about the St. Vitus Cathedral, that´s a truly spectacular piece of ancient architecture ;)

Wow!!!! beautiful place

Thanks for stopping by :)

@phortun What a wonderful photos you have its nice to see such beautiful structures like this thanks for sharing with us have a nice day.🙂🙂

Thanks for checking them out! Have a lovely day too :)

Beautiful shots! With so many photographable things in that city it must be hard to make a selection hehe.
By the way, how's the heat over there? I've seen the news from Europe burning...

Yeah, pretty much all Europe is currently suffering from heat and some places even from wildfires, especially in the south where they have to deal with temperatures of up to 48 C, crazy... Here in Central Europe, it´s between 30 C and 40 C these days, which is bearable but exhausting. In Great Britain, they even got their highest temperature ever - 40.2 C. Happened just yesterday. Must be really tough for them. Yeah, Mother Nature has been taking revenge on us people for all the shit we have done to her... Hope it´s not that bad in your country.

Nature has been worse to us in the past. Search the Younger Dryas Boundary.

Yeah but it´s undeniable that human activity has greatly contributed to the phenomena that we are now experiencing all over the globe. Look at the extiction process for example. We have increased the species extinction rate by a thousand times. Plant and animal extinctions are now occurring at a rate of at least a thousand times faster than what would be natural. Heartbreaking numbers...

During the Younger Dryas more species of megafauna went extinct than the number of species of mega fauna that currently exists today! I heard about that there are a lot of species being lost, but how can you assume to know the rate that would be natural? For natural species loss, we only have the fossil record, and if mega-fauna extinctions are anything like the plants and smaller animal species extinctions; we don't even compare.

But that's not to say we there is nothing wrong. I hope we don't lose more species because of poaching.or hunting of endangered species.

It´s not me assuming that, it´s the scientists...

https://www.livescience.com/45964-extinction-rates-1000-times-normal.html

Btw it´s definitely not just about poaching and hunting. Humans have been destryoing and polluting natural environment of countless species in so many ways. You have probably heard how fast the Amazon Rainforest has been shrinking, for example...

Thanks for the article. Brazil has cut down a greater than majority portion of the amazon in its territory. I remember reading about insects strangely dying off. If we lose our pollinating insects, the next mega-fauna endangered species will include man.

That's right, the earth will exterminate us... Ah well, Prague is not so hot luckily!
Here we are now in the rainy season, so everything is cooler.

Well, it was around 35 C here in Prague today. But it´s not like in the tropics, here the heat is dry, it´s not humid at all. It feels weird actually, I hate it... Happy to hear that you guys are cool though :)

I can imagine! The heat can be desperate, I'm sure you're planning to visit some place out there to cool off and show us :)

I´m afraid I don't get this reference...

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @phortun.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more