summer macros #336

in Liketu2 years ago



cl6lgaybc019h29kf1lzefbj1_2022-jun-7911w-hs.webp
Digitális purpúrea -- beautiful creation, but toxic plant.
cl6lgb0oa019c0pkfb4811564_2022-jul-9000w-h.webp
Two snails threaten the strawberries we grow. If you thought that I colored the strawberries in Photoshop - no, that is not the case, the yellow color is the natural color of this unusual variety.
cl6lgb4ez019m1hkfa2it6f6f_2022-jul-8926w-h.webp
Thanks god -- these creatures did not visit our garden, I captured this at a sufficient distance. Poor tree, as far as I noticed, they skinned it for 95% ...
cl6lgb6u6018j0wkf18x42ymm_2022-jul-8899w-h1.webp
A close-up cropped version of the photo below.
cl6lgb92e01ag2okfbb91cyqh_2022-jul-8899w-h2.webp
Very ephemerical butterfly.
cl6lgbbdy019z1tkf2kqwhwmt_2022-jun-7888w-hs1.webp
A small but very beautiful bug - a shining jewel. Have no idea what specie it could be; not a weevil, tho.
cl6lgbeer019f0pkf95zv0x5a_2022-jun-7864w-s.webp
Fount this caterpillar in my garden. Happily, it was not ruining our berries or apple trees.

My post goes for Deranged Photography Contest -- the week's topic was Wildlife, so I could not pass by in silence. According to the contest rules, I declare my level: PRO.

I selected 6 macro photos to show you today -- all are fresh captures from this summer, I took at my garden. Half of them has pests in it. Coincidence? not sure of that, haha.

A little clarification to anticipate possible questions: the photo of a predatory black caterpillars herd decimating greenery was taken _outside_ of my garden, so our plants did not suffer... We actually grow not much stuff in our garden: just some berries and apples, and a mint... and some iris flowers... so when I find a snail or a caterpillar,

I rejoice at it and grab the camera -- otherwise, I would grab not a camera, but a fly swatter! By the way, if anyone knows ID of these black caterpillars, I am curious to know who was grazing before my eyes, and what beauty can hatch from them...

location: Vyritza, Russia July 2022 natural light
camera/lens: Canon 5D Sigma 150mm raw-conv

Thanks for walking with me, see you next time.

sep1201.png

All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
My posts at pinmapple.com
Thanks for visiting my blog!

For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Very ephemerical butterfly.

Я думаю что это златоглазка, она и её личинки очень полезные насекомые
в сельском и лесном хозяйстве.
Их даже искусственно разводят.
А личинки пожирают большое количество вредителей.

да, конечно, это так! я назвал ее бабочкой для простоты, не было времени поискать как это будет по аглицки.

Я года 3-4 назад узнала что она полезная, а до этого я несколько убила :-( до сих пор их жалко...

ну, это не правильно, так казниться. природа восстановит естественную (и даже не естественную - если она не тотальная!) убыль...

я всё понимаю, но... ничего не могу поделать со своими чувствами...
в жизни это мешает, так как я очень близко всё принимаю к сердцу: предательство, ложь и т.д.
надо к жизни относиться проще, но у меня это не получается, к сожалению...

Cuteness! The green beetle is the prettiest. I thought about бронзовка first, but no, then somehow google showed me this - Byctiscus populi. Probably, it may be the right answer.

ha! "тополёвый трубковерт" - ну кто бы мог подумать, ничего себе имечко. спасибо за идентификацию, и в ответ... оплата пивом !BEER 😊


Hey @x-rain, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

интересная синяя букашка с крыльями... а прочую гадость видел. :)

это златоглазка, она и её личинки очень полезные в садоводстве!!!

это неожиданно.
не знал такого.
у нас такие не имеются. :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 118 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
13

Congratulations @qwerrie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 59000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the July PUM Winners
Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day

Baby snail on top of mommy snail is reay cool. Nice one 👍

The rest are good as well of course.

Good morning! Yes, baby snail is touchy. My fave one here is the eaten leaves.. tho it is a bit spooky image ;)
have time for a !PIZZA ?

Yeah it's a bit creepy but very cool as well

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
qwerrie tipped taliakerch (x1)
@qwerrie(2/5) tipped @nikv (x2)
qwerrie tipped leaky20 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @qwerrie.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you Ecency, your support is always handy. 🙏

I can't Identify your beetles but the thing you called a butterfly is a lacewing, Their young are not caterpillars but fearsome predators of aphids and other garden pests

@nikv, you absolutely correct. it is not a butterfly, and of course I know it, was not accurate but had no time to search for an english equivalent when the blog was off. it is Chrysoperla carnea, or in Russian it has a very poetical name of Zlatoglazka (i.e. 'Golden eyes'). The name 'lacewing' is nice too! good to know. Their larvaes are very useful, Ludmila K. told me the same in her comment.

Not sure if I've ever seen them in the younger phase.

oh, and btw my friend @x-rain identified the beetle as 'Byctiscus populi'

a !PIZZA ?..

I have never seen a clean one like you show. These are the maddest creatures, they carry the corpses of their prey on their backs to use as camouflage so the look like little white fluff when you see them. This one at my house has been eating ants as well as aphids

lacewing.jpg

Life of larvae is attractive and.... not known very well. It contains a lot of fantastic secrets and mechanisms that nature have invented and implemented!
ps. I've made a few shots of lacewing, will do a 'macro focus stacking' and after that will post someday even better and more detailed pic. Now I am rush and off exactly to my summer house -- have a 10 days holiday, part two -- the last one in this year. And of course, I borrow 3 lens with me, including the macro one. Hope the weather will be sunny and benefitting for macrophotography. Cheers! And thanks one more time for your support and all the info. That is appreciated a lot, not that I'd bribe you with a !PIZZA..
ps. obtained yesterday a book I long-dreamed of: 'Kiropaedia' by Xenofont (edition of 1976). probably will be my summer reading ;))))) dreams come true!

Enjoy your holiday!

Beautiful shots

мы ставили приложение, которое по фото определяет растение
надо такое же для букашек - интересно)

процесс конечно увлекательный. но результат - гадательный. эти приложения не умнее создателей. для характерных растений (типа: мухомор) они конечно айди определят. а вот что-то сложное, без выразительных признаков... хрен там. 😏🤓 во всяком случае в случае с грибами - совершенно точно так, пользоваться можно -- только для самообмана.... ну, и для процесса. а довериться на 100% (например, съедобно == несъедобно, ядовитый паук или безопасный и не кусачий) - не...
!PIZZA тебе в утешение

на самом деле, лучше всего помогает качественное фото (иногда с нескольких сторон) и помощь экспертов. в данном посте уже три друга мне четко предъявили точные имена, кто как называется.

та кого я неосторожно назвал бабочкой - златоглазка, она же lacewing. а сияющий жучок - Byctiscus populi, он же тополевый трубковерт (!). ничего себе имечко, ага?!

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png