I made my own tinted lip balm!

in Liketu2 years ago



cl7zv5mz301ds2dm79m9d92ha_IMG_7539.webp
cl7zv5q4y01ej0im79z2w1skm_IMG_6473.webp
cl7zv5tav01h821m73nv9c1pj_IMG_6371.webp
cl7zv5xm401fc1tm7gpybblgo_IMG_6372.webp
cl7zv620v01j51lm7g9it95x9_IMG_6375.webp
cl7zv65yy01e20pm7goed7gfn_IMG_6403.webp
cl7zv6a5i01e615m7cixe4vgc_IMG_6406.webp
cl7zv6dw701f50wm7bab4b6uo_IMG_7541.webp
cl7zv6hly01du2dm7ch0ncs56_IMG_7571.webp

I'm always obsessed with natural products. Cosmetics, skincare, and so on, be it.

I have also been so in love with Burt's bees' shimmer lip (all natural. Almost like balm mixed with lipstick.) but to buy it here in Thailand, the price doesn't make sense much compared to in the US so I have this idea of making my own. I of course, started by watching some YouTube videos and reading articles about 'how to' make it. So many recipes in term of ratios but the main ingredients stay the same.

I ordered lip balm tins, cocoa butter, beeswax, and mica online then use coconut oil that we'd already been using at home. Yes, those are the only things we need for the lip balm! Really just 4 or 5 at most and all the ingredients, you can read and already know what they are.

I have tried a few ratios according to the internet but I find one perfect one that I would like to share with you here. Its texture is really almost like burt's bees's lip shimmer. Smooth, moisture yet give that pretty colors to the lips!

1 beeswax
2 cocoa butter
1 coconut oil
0.5 mica

I use measuring spoons to measure all these and not even a scale. Turn out good every time!

I first started with beeswax and I think its melting point is way higher than the other. Followed by butter and oil until all the ingredients are melted then add the mica way at the end.

*To note - Many people say that beetroot power works for coloring but let me tell you, whatever it is, a Youtube channel, a beauty blog, just unfollow that person lol because it really doesn't work! When beetroot powder combined with water or oil, the powder is no more powder.. it's back to become shredded beetroots and it leaves all this little bits on your lips which is so unpleasant. For the color, I think mica is the way to go.

I even have a logo printed and stick it on the tin... Looks pretty serious and yes, looks good ngl !

This could also be a gift ideas as it's really easy and affordable to make. Love it!


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Your design skills are spectacular. Love the logo.

All credit to Canva lol

That's cool you have your own cosmetic line

Hehe I was so thinkin of that

WOnderful! I love that! UI have bene looking for organic cosmetics these days because I get chapped lips whenever I use lipsticks and it is one of the reason why O stopped using them

Go BEETROOT! 😍 We love that you are using Beetroot @waybeyondpadthai 😘 Where can we get that Lip Balm? 🤗

oof.. it's actually not good to use the beetroot powder in the balm. I think we need some kind of extract and not the powder :/

This is awesome. I am try to made this lip balm