A Military Asked to Delete This Image. I Refused / Street Photography on LikeTu

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)



cl5wuw3xl019c0qmq4rf673ba_peter-the-great-petersburg-2.JPG

It happened recently during my visit to the historic district of St. Petersburg. I found this window with reflections. I chose the frame and was waiting for someone to pass. I took several images and, then, this person emerged dressed in Peter the Great, a famous Russian emperor. I was happy both for this lucky moment and because I found this interesting spot for street photography in different seasons with different lenses.

Not far from there, a young man in the uniform was standing - a sentry by some military institution, I didn't know what exactly but not the police. He approached me and asked what I was photographing. I shortly explained: the window, the reflection, passersby. Then, he said that it wasn't allowed to photograph this building. I asked, "Why? What is this building?" He mysteriously answered: "An administrative building".

Thus, he did not introduce himself (his rank and surname, what kind of service he belonged to) and did not say what kind of building it was. Despite that, despite his demand was absurd, I obeyed and stood up to leave the place. However, he wanted more. He stretched his arms towards my camera saying: "I want to be sure that the images were deleted".

I would describe this behavior as a behavior of a gopnik rather than a real military personnel.

I annoyingly answered: "No".
He: "Why?"
I answered: "This is my work, I am not going to ruin it. If you want something from me, call the police".
He: "I will".
I repeated: "Call the police".

He said "alright" and resentfully left me heading to the door he had been standing by showing with his appearance that he wanted to take action against me. I guess he wanted to talk to his boss or stuff, or, maybe, even to call the police although a conflict with a person with a photo camera sounds absurd in the city full of tourists.

I didn't have time for this interaction anyway so I left the scene on my bicycle, cycling rather fast than slow. :D

I have saved the images but taking pictures freely is not possible at this spot, and this makes me sad.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Hi there, thank you for sparing some time in my inquiry. Now, I got another great photographer to follow here at Hive, and also forgive me because I am going to occasionally ask questions about photography. Have a nice day ahead,

Thank you! I will be glad to answer questions when I know the answers :)

Have a nice day too.

Ok, ok... It's a complicated story... Well, there's really no explanation for the young uniformed man's attitude... Maybe it was just a kind of bravado generated by what we call here "uniform arrogance"!... But who knows... On the other hand: It's an excellent photo!... Wow!.... Very nice!

:) We don't know but my theory is that he had this command not to allow people to take images. It could be a permanent or a temporary order - we are going to have a military celebration (life isn't life without military parades in authoritarian countries ruled by madmen like Russia) and the dictator is going to visit the city in a week. He is paranoid about security.

The young man wasn't confident but he pushed himself to approached me - I noticed that. And then he tried to become more confident and did what you said - a bit of awkward bravado. His worst fears came true - I turned out to be an angry and dissatisfied person. :D

The story is more complicated because the Russian emporer (on the photo) was hurrying and was followed by a policeman. His colleague Catherine the Great was rushing too. Probably, some tourists complained that emporer and empress too insistently demanded too much money for a photo with them (it happens sometimes).

The photo is nice, thank you, but I would be happy to see a more interesting light, not that flat one.

Fuck him and his "administrative building" of my ass!! Those "persons" should live under the land, like virmins... at least they share the same quantity of brain.

This time he was lucky... maybe next time with another person, he will not be so lucky.

!discovery 32
!PIZZA

Instead, they can go to pension when they are 40 years old while other men have pension in 65. The regime relies on them, on millions of paid idlers with narrow minds.

Thank you.

For now injustice always win, but... Can't rain forever!!
Have a good day @x-rain


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you!

абсурд? да. а еще, им же безумно СКУЧНО целыми днями стоять и НИЧЕГО не делать. все это копится и сублимируется. плюс, малюсенькая, какая-никакая, а все ж возможность применить свою "власть" . 🤓 все это очень типично

И это тоже. Ванька из Залупатьевска приехал в большой город с патриотически-квартирной целью. Весь день сидишь на пеньке, а в 40 - на заслуженную пенсию. По большим праздникам собираешься в толпу с себе подобными и избиваешь людей. Чувствуешь себя важным куском говна, ибо "мы - это Пушкин и Достоевский" и "у нас ядерное оружие", смотришь футбол, пьешь пиво, размножаешься. Питомник дебилов.

Скучно? Еще надо доказать, что это слово применимо в данном случае.

Антропоморфизм (от греч. antropos — человек и morphe — вид) — уподобление человеку, на­деление человеческим обличьем и че­ловеческими качествами предметов и явлений неживой природы, раститель­ного и животного мира. https://rah.ru/science/glossary/detail.php?ID=21286

в точку. мсье разбирается в тайнах русской души 😨

и тем не менее !BEER. поскольку я-то на пеньке всюю жизнь не сидел...

Да и не на пенсии еще.

если гражданин поступил на службу в систему МВД в 20 лет, то он вправе выйти на пенсию уже в 40 лет. Такое положение устанавливает ст.13 ФЗ №4468.1 для сотрудников Рсгвардии

🍻 Na zdorovie! (This is Russian "cheers", don't you know??)

“Nostrovia” is the English mispronunciation of the Russian word, "Na Zdorovie", meaning "cheers". Nostrovia is now used as English slang for “let's get drunk” and as a common drinking toast https://duotrope.com/listing/6646/nostrovia-guest-blog


Hey @x-rain, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Congratulations @x-rain! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@lallo(1/5) tipped @x-rain (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!