The Start of a New Semester

in GEMS2 years ago

A new semester began on the 7th of February at the University I currently attend. But classes did not begin fully until March 10th, 2022 because as medical students, we had to do volunteering practice (like an internship) at different polyclinics in St. Petersburg and even in Petrozavodsk.

It's been over a week now since classes fully commenced at the university and I'll be sharing with you, my experiences so far.

gVIsau3pQEg.jpg

As a foreign student studying Pediatrics in a foreign language, it can be difficult especially because I am just in my first year and I'm still learning the language. I study with an international group, so I have group members from Uzbekistan, Colombia, Yemen, Syria, Sudan and Turkmenistan. The picture above shows the girls in my group👭👭.

HZuwVY_tXUA.jpg

For this semester, we study Biology, Organic Chemistry, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Histology, History of Russia, History of Medicine, Latin and of course Russian Language😅. We were currently in the middle of a break from Histology class when the above picture was taken. I really enjoyed that class.

psQh2gf37vc.jpg

Meet the members of my group! We had just finished an Anatomy class and we were done for the day. This was our first group photo for the semester, and we took a lot of pictures.

ZPWmYe3UK7M.jpg

Learning together as a group and getting to help each other out, makes studying less difficult. We are given a lot of tasks or homework for nearly every subject and it's a bit demanding on our part. We also have to study a lot. And for me, I have to study in English and then in Russian.

ZaRjT5hxRP8.jpg

I stay in one of the dormitories of the University and about two of my group members also live in this particular dormitory. This last picture was taken at 10pm, a certain night. We had been studying Anatomy for over two hours and writing our lecture notes. This was just before we took a break to check in for the night.

tlSi-cKDgqw.jpg

One week down, about 14 more weeks to go😁. See you next week Monday.

★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★★

I am Agbadudu Oghenekevwe, a Nigerian and medical student currently studying at St. Petersburg State Pediatric Medical University. I enjoy writing poems and short stories. I believe in the sacrifice of Jesus for my sins and I know I'm saved eternally.

Thank you for your interest in this post. What do you think is the most difficult part about being a medical student in a foreign country? Let me know in the comment section.

Sort:  

Congratulations @abkevwe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 12000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!