A Life's Legacy

in GEMS4 years ago

20190602_163936-01.jpeg

It's been about four years since one of my grandmas past away at age 74, after living with just a lung(actually about 75% of it) for almost 50 years. She worked as a normal person though, quite a lot I would say and she was the go getter type of person, something that I haven't yet to become unfortunately.

Along with my grandpa whom I haven't had the chance to meet because I was just one month old when he died, have come up with the resources to buy my father an apartment, in which I currently live... to build their own house in the country side and do quite well financially throughout their life. One could say that they left quite some palpable memories behind.

Grandma lived much more than grandpa, and most of her life was spent at hour house at the country side, where she was born. She was actually born in what we now have as the garden, and she really was attached to that place and the house there, and my father seems to be as well. I am not, to be honest, and would have sold the old house soon after her passing away, but I'm not the owner... fortunately.

By no means it's that an expensive house, and land, not even by the Eastern European standards. My father was thinking that if he was to sell it he would ask some $8,000 but I guess I would do that for half the price. It's still a house though, not the one in the pic above to make it clear, with a garden, and some 2 hectares of agricultural land near the village.

That was pretty much my grandma's legacy, that in my opinion, has quite a low financial value, but during times like the ones we are currently living, I got to see its beyond cash value, sort to speak. I saw the potential of owning such a back up home and land that in times of crisis might be way more valuable than the safe city life that most of us enjoy.

Imagine war times during which everything shuts down, and you hardly have water and electricity... how safe and desired would it still be one's survival in big cities?

On the other hand in country side you have quite plenty of options that don't even require electricity. You have a garden at your disposal where you can plant almost all of the vegetables that you need for a three or four persons and a well to provide you with water, you have a piece of land where you can plant grain and corn, and you would also definitely have some 15-20 square meters to grow some chickens.

Taking such scenarios into account I get to see the value of grandma's house, an old house, a far away house, but a potential home during though times. I hope to never get to that situation of being forced to move to the country side and needing to work the land and live in an old house, but if life forces me to do so I know I have an option.

This pandemic involving the use of police and army forces has showed us how easily things can shift from total chill bullish life trends to total chaos, uncertainty, isolation and freedom deprivation. It seems like these times don't show up by invitation and expectations, and on the contrary, they simply show up in your face. I guess same thing happened with wars.

People simply woke up to decisions being taken by a hand full of people for most of them and were forced to take their uniforms and fight in wars that weren't theirs. I doubt that the majority of the living beings on earth asked for WWI and WWII but we still had them. We had them because a few decided, mostly out of ill egos, for the majority, same as we now have this whole pandemic that a few decided for us.

What's worse nowadays is that the control over the population, by more means that we can imagine, is way stronger than a hundred or eighty years ago. I have to admit that I like tech, I like traveling, I like my online activity and most of the benefits of modern life, but in terms of crisis, I mean major crisis, I would rather get to that old house and work the land rather than sticking to city life. I see it as being way more sustainable and probably healthier as well.

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 7/28)

Thank you both.

There is a lot of potential for a place like that you just have to see it. If I lived in Romainia I would totally buy a place like that

Now I really see it. After living in quite a few big cities in Europe like Timisoara and Bucharest, Stuttgart and Oslo, I realize that city life is not safe at all.

Manually curated by blacklux 💡 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment