I Function (Short Story)

in GEMS2 years ago (edited)

A look into the daily life of a depressed teenager. (Author Notes at the end.)


ifunction


I Function

I don’t live. I function.

I wake up.

I force myself to look at the time.

I’m only 1 hour late to school.

Too bad.

I go to the fridge for leftovers.

I encounter an angry father by the fridge.

I tell him, I’m late the school.

Better not go.

He lists out the reasons I should go.

I don’t blame him. He’s been supportive.

I don’t listen. I function.

I go to school.

I force myself on the way.

I was asked why I was late?

I don’t give excuses. I function.

It’s exhausting.

I encounter a surprise quiz.

I don’t answer. I function.

In the break. I was asked why I’m not playing like I used to.

They’re being supportive.

I don’t play. I function.

I go back home.

Finally,
I’m exhausted.

I connect to the internet.

I chat with fellow gamers.

I don’t play games. I chat.

I was asked why I don’t play games anymore.

They're being supportive.

I give excuses.

I chat with the gamers.

They all go to sleep.

I realize I should sleep too.

I go to bed.

I don’t sleep. I function.

[The End]


Author Notes

I Function, is the feeling I have when I do things I don't want to when I have to. I don't feel like I'm living, just doing what I'm supposed to do as a machine.

Luckily, I only need to do that a few minutes in a while, in my life, or it would've been a slow suicide process.

That last point is what I tried to capture in this story: "Depression is a slow suicide process," and I think we all should seek help.

This is an idea that was sparked while writing another story of mine. It was simple so I finished this one before going back to the other story I've been writing. So, I hope you enjoyed reading it.




I Function by @ahmadmanga is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

Sort:  

I Function, is the feeling I have when I do things I don't want to when I have to. I don't feel like I'm living, just doing what I'm supposed to do as a machine.

Many people "function" eight or more hours per day in their workplaces.

Luckily, I only need to do that a few minutes in a while, in my life, or it would've been a slow suicide process.

You are lucky/fortunate with that. Many people do things that they do not like to do every day. They have to do this (or at least this is what/how they feel) to make a living. Many people live almost their complete/entire life like this.

I know I'm lucky. I can't imagine working on something I have zero joy in. (Thouygh I'm confident in my ability to create joy if needed, and that's probably why I only feel like this a few minutes at a time.)

It saddens me that "functioning" is the only option for many people in life... It's also worse if you're already dealing with a mental illness.

Thanks for reading~ !LUV !PIZZA !LOLZ

@xplosive, @ahmadmanga(1/4) sent you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | daily

⚠ The LUV command will soon require a limited number of other "!" commands accompany it. Details here.

I went to the doctors to see him about my memory loss.
But I forgot to mention it to him.

Credit: reddit
@xplosive, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @ahmadmanga
Did you know that $LOLZ is a Dividend Token too? Find out more at LOLZ Defi.
(1/4)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ahmadmanga(1/5) tipped @xplosive (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @ahmadmanga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 6500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @ahmadmanga.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more