Colorful Day! Sensory Play with Kids

in GEMS4 years ago

That Satisfying Feeling

Sensory play or activities that stimulate senses like touch, smell, hearing, sight, and movements, do not just benefit small kids or toddlers but anybody of different age. By stimulating the senses, these activities greatly improve the brain development by strengthening its neural pathways.

We love working with playdough -- I make it from scratch using food-grade ingredients to make sure that my kids get to play with safe materials. The mere kneading of the dough is so satisfying even for me as an adult, and even feels like a stress reliever.

Colorful Rice

I decided to make these colorful rice for a change today. Not intending to put too much to waste, I only used 1 cup of uncooked rice and made three colors out of them.

First, I divided the rice and put them into three separate cups then added water. As we want it to be visually appealing and stimulating, we add a few drops of food coloring to each cup and let it stand for at least 10 minutes. For this activity, I used red, green and orange colors. Look at how bright they are!

Once the colors have penetrated the rice, drain the water and let it dry completely. I kept them under the sun for around 30 minutes (hey, it's desert summer! It's too easy to dry even your blood. LOL).

What should we do with it?! My two little ones asked.

"Hmmm, how about I mix them together and then you sort them again per color and count all the bits?" I asked.

Of course, I got a big glare from my Little Madam. "That will take forever, Mommy!"

They're like rainbow sprinkles!

Oh, do I even have to reiterate how obsessed my kids are to "rainbow sprinkles"? They love it on their cakes, donuts, ice cream...

So when I put all the colored rice together into one bowl, they were so happy to see it look like, yeah, rainbow sprinkles!

For my Little Man, we did some scooping exercises -- try to transfer the rice from one bowl to another without spilling. For some reason, he did not like to touch it with his hand and we used spoon for his activity. I guess I will have to try it out with him again tomorrow.

Little Miss on the other hand, extremely enjoys playing with it. She loves putting her hands in the bowl and covering them with the rice. She also squeezes the rice into her hands until it breaks into smaller bits (the rice became brittler and breaks easily after the soaking).

Needless to say, Little Miss came up with lots of things to make with these colorful bits. I even saw her put some colored cotton for added texture. One moment, she even played "cooking" with it. The sound of the rice being transferred from one bowl to another also was quite satisfying.

I am glad that she liked what I prepared for them today, and the cup of rice did not really go to "waste". Even I feel good each time I touch the rice and play it with them. It's a little messy, with the a few bits spilling here and there, but nothing that is really out of control. I let them play at the dining table so it is easier to clean up afterwards.

We can still keep this rice for a few days (or a couple of weeks even), and try to do more exercises with it. Any suggestions you can give, on how we can make use of these colorful bits in our playtime?

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! ☺️

If you have chickens they have some extra food when you're done ;D

That's a good idea! And not one I've done, only ever used rice in "potions" (they'd chuck it into something and watch it eventually swell up and even more eventually make the liquid they put it in thicker) as food colouring has only recently been allowed into the house (it was staying out previously as it correlated with severe behavioural issues in youngest).

Little Man having tactile issues with the rice or do you normally eat rice with spoons? Hopefully he'll feel better about touching it next time you bring it out :)

"potions" is something my Little Miss will surely enjoy. We'll try that when she's done playing with the "sprinkles".

I don't think Little Man has tactile issues with the rice, just that he wasn't used to it. He had fun with them today. ☺️

Of course, I got a big glare from my Little Madam. "That will take forever, Mommy!"

LMAO that's so me when someone suggests something impractical. Except instead of glare, I do eyerolls. I thought this will end up as colored puffed rice recipe! Hahahahaha.

Even if I told her the plus side, ie she will be able to learn to count up to thousands, she didn't agree. 🤣

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #30.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph to your every post.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

I love that game, It was look very fun.