How Do You Eat a "Balanced" Meal?

in GEMS4 years ago

Yey, Friday!

I just blinked my eye for a second, and boom! It's Friday. It's rest day, means no rush and no homeschool! ☺️ That also means I can spend more time in the kitchen. Lol. Actually, it is already Saturday morning as I write this post, but let me share here my Friday first.

I have gained weight these past months, and much as I would like to start a new routine to shred off these extra pounds, I keep rolling back to the beginning. sigh There are days that I am too pumped and want to do exercises, but with the extreme heat outside, I back off.

So I begin to watch what I eat.

How about low carbs?

Well, I'm not on a keto diet. No. But when I can, I try to avoid eating too much carbs and sugars.

My Low Carb Breakfast

For breakfast, I prepared this low carb meal-- cabbage has browns and buttered mushrooms and capsicum, topped with ground flax seeds, feta cheese and microgreens! Whoops, don't forget the black coffee.

Winner!

Of course, this was not mine alone. Hubby and I shared these. Lol. It is actually very filling, and it could really sustain me for hours. Hey, I even do intermittent fasting, mostly 20-4, or even OMAD. I had great success with this before.

My Struggle

So the problem now, apart from me getting too lazy to exercise, is my time spent cooking. Of course, I'd like to try what I cook too. 😁

Yesterday, while cooking breakfast, my dough for the ensaymada was already rising. By 12.30pm, it was already in the oven.

Irresistible Ensaymada

I am trying to perfect this recipe and besides the process is too easy I can really afford to do it always. Who knows, I can turn it into a business someday?! Taking some suggestions from @pingcess, I made each rolls smaller and flatter this time so it is easier to bite.

So after that low carb breakfast, I guess you already know what my lunch had been. 🤦‍♀️

Fam's Special Request

It's Friday. It's hot. @kennyroy requested for ice cream! Whaaa... Yes, ice cream. Not that we don't have ice cream all the time. I think we eat ice cream on a weekly basis. Oh well...

So after the kids had dinner, we went outside (all of us together for the first time in 4 months!) to the nearest Baskin Robbins and each got their favorite ice cream flavor.

"Sinful" Tub

I got a scoop of nutty salted caramel with hot fudge toppings. It also had 2-fingers Kit Kat. 🍫 Little Miss enjoyed her cotton candy flavored ice cream, my Little Man had chocolate fudge brownie, and Kuya had jamoca. BTW, all had to have rainbow sprinkles! Meanwhile, daddy enjoyed his mango flavored ice cream in a waffle cone.

So yeah, what a way to end the day. I guess so much for a sugar and carb-free diet for me. Unless I can instill more discipline to my eating habits. Hey, no "unless". It's got to happen. I need to start soon.

How about you? Do you follow any particular diet and/or exercise routine? How do you maintain the discipline with all the temptation lurking around?

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

Sort:  

Congratulations @arrliinn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 66000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 67000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!