Is Superfast Charging Good or Bad

in GEMS3 years ago


image.png
Source

Fast Charging has been a built-in feature among most Android Smartphones and it is definitely a very handy feature to have as you can get a quick charge in like 5 minutes which might last you for 3-4 hours depending on how you use your Smartphone. Usually, Fast Charging ranges around 30-45 Watts and I am ok with this level but nowadays Fast Charging has gone to Super Fast Charging which goes to charging levels as high as 120 Watts which in my opinion is just Overkill as well as harmful for Battery Longevity.

In the last couple of years, we have seen big leaps in Charging tech from the big tech houses like BBK, Samsung, Xiaomi, and many more and that has led to smartphones that have a Charging Capability of 120 Watts to smartphone batteries. But I feel like fast charging is good but super-fast charging is not good for us in the long run as it is good to have a 120 Watt charger but what if that Charger leads to a significantly less Battery Lifetime and what if you end up with an exploding smartphone in your home thanks to Super Fast Charging.

When you are charging any high wattage battery you need to look out for three key things first is the battery voltage which should be stable, second is the current you are putting on the battery and the third is the temperature of the battery which is the safety aspect to look out for. Personally, as much as I love the idea of charging my smartphone at Super Fast Speeds of 120 Watts I would much prefer Simple Fast Charging with speeds as high as 50 Watts as I feel that there is not that much of a difference after we hit the 50 Watt Charging mark.

image.png

Sort:  

I bought a 65W charger but when I deciding to buy one more, I considered 65 vs 100W and decided the 65W was something I was happy with.