Keep Moving

in GEMS4 years ago

Well, it is morning again and despite everything that's happened the previous day, nothing's going to stop time from ticking life away. Last night was a weird one for me because I lost the pet that I had only known for 3 days and that event taught me that sometimes, making a permanent impact in someone's life only needs a moment.


source

I'm much better now, although the few pictures I took of her still draw an emotional reaction whenever I see them; at the same time, it is a reminder of how life is in general and that you can do all you can out of love, but ultimately, fate will still happen.

My friend that got stuck with me throughout the worst part of the coronafication of Nigeria will be leaving today, so it is back to being alone again. It is going to be weird without him around; we've been friends for 12 years and counting, so we have a strong bond. This period was a rather interesting one because I got some insight into a different way of life and learnt some things about myself in the process.

He'll be making a short trip to Abuja first to sort out his court attachment(he's in law school), but if there's still no word after two weeks, will head back to Bayelsa. Speaking of Abuja, I'm still keeping my fingers crossed that the trains will work today. The Kaduna-Abuja expressway is notorious for armed robberies and kidnappings, so I'd be way more comfortable with him leaving through the train. He's hellbent on leaving today and so I wish him good luck.

Life is happening around me, irrespective of my feelings or state. I try to implement my will on it as much as possible, but at the end of the day, everything keeps on moving, no matter how dormant or active I am. I hope everyone stays safe and good things come your way this beautiful Wednesday.


Sort:  

I'm so sorry you lost your pet. We certainly become attached even after meeting for just a few days. I'm sure both of your lives were enriched because of the time spent.

Here's hoping your friend arrived safely at his destination!!

He arrived safely. I'm back to being alone in my place again.