Location & opportunity.

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

I'm certain you are familiar with the popular maxim "your location determines your allocation". Have you really given it a serious thought? Does you location really determine what comes to you?

Once, I was with some friends and we were discussing scholarship opportunities. I was made to know that most Federal Government scholarships are taken by the "people at the top" and limited slots are available to the public.

Location & Allocation.

20200329_064734_0000.png

Image designed by me

I wasn't the best baker during my undergraduate days. Lol, I laugh at myself whenever I go through my archives and see some of my "best" works in the days. However, I was the best they had. My location gave me opportunities then. I didn't even have to advertise, referrals from my clients grew my business for me (and of course, free cakes sometimes).

  1. Where are you? This doesn't have to be a physical address.
  2. What opportunities are there?
  3. Are you prepared to take them up should they come your way?

Let's stop hiding under God knows best when we miss opportunities that we missed because we weren't ready for them.


This StayHome period is a great opportunity to hone your skills without the stress of going out to fulfill your social or corporate responsibilities; what have you planned to do with it?

  • You could practice and perfect that cooking/baking recipe.
  • You can make more Vlogs and write more.
  • You can take any of the plenty free online courses been offered by various amazing platforms: Coursera, Udemy, Codecademy, Pluralsight, and many more.
  • You have the time to take care of your health; eat less junk, do more workouts, sleep better.
  • Finally, you can check up on old friends.

What you do this period will determine your allocation after, there will be a paradigm shift and you have to be ready for it. There would be need for more hands in the health sector, the coding world, business world in general.
Are you getting ready?