Matt Ulery's "To Lose Your Mind" and @Lizelle's Mozart sonata and Oscar Wilde

in GEMS2 years ago

Thanks to @yahia-lababidi's Thinking of Oscar Wilde post,

celebrating the lively wit of the lovable Wilde on his birthday,

I know who Matt Ulery reminds me of!

 "image.png"
source: styleweekly.com

Who is Matt Ulery?

One of the BEST jazz bassists and composers ever, yet he's as modest and unassuming as any true genius seems to be. I met him once in a bar in Chicago, so I have had the chance to tell him in person how smitten I am with his music. Our son has had bass lessons with Matt and has seen him live in concert.

Knowing next to nothing about music (despite having a musically gifted husband and a son who majored in music), I cannot articulate what makes me love one song and not another. Music critics don't seem to capture it: the "sweeping lyricism," yes, that's a good start, along with "unconventional phrase structures" and "expressionistic emotionalism."

The Patron Saint of Jazz presents Matt Ulery’s Pollinator

Chicago-based bassist/composer and bandleader Matt Ulery has developed an instantly recognizable sound. Known for his sweeping lyricism, unconventional phrase structures, expressionistic emotionalism, Ulery’s music, from small, diverse chamber ensembles to full orchestras, is informed by the entire spectrum of jazz, classical, rock, pop, and folk – specifically American, South American, Balkan, and other European folk styles. He has been performing for 20 years on bass but with his new project, Pollinator, Ulery swaps his bass for the sousaphone, which is front and center in this lively brass band.

But, but... what more do I want music critics to convey?

The rhythm, the cadence, makes Matt's music feel like dialogue to me. I mean, it's a cliche to say this, but his music speaks to me. Every instrument is like a human voice, and I hear them together as if at a family reunion.

"Approachable." Yes.

"Innovative." Indeed.

 "image.png"

POSTED BY PETER MCELHINNEY at styleweekly.com

At once individualistic and innovative and melodically approachable, composer/bassist Matt Ulery is an ideal collaborator with the University of Richmond’s four-time, Grammy-winning, ensemble-in-residence eighth blackbird.

They’ve recorded two widely lauded albums of Ulery’s work: 2012’s “By a Little Light” and 2014’s “In the Ivory,” both on Dave Douglas’ exemplary Greenleaf label. The music blurs the boundaries between jazz and classical music, ranging from cinematic sweep to introspective intimacy, drawing on a wide range of genres and styles.

"Introspective intimacy" - um, yeah. That too.

What can I add to that...?

I LOVE IT!

I can listen to it again and again and again, day after day, year after year! Now that is something I cannot say of a lot of songs. How many people saw this incredible concert live at Millennial Park? This is one song I never tire of hearing:

Matt Ulery's "To Lose Your Mind" from the album By A Little Light (Greenleaf Music 2012) performed live at the Pritzker Pavilion at Millennium Park, Chicago, August 16th, 2012

Matt Ulery - double bass & compositions, Rob Clearfield - piano, Michael Caskey - drums, James Davis - trumpets, Tim Munro - flutes, Katinka Kleijn - cello, Nicholas Photinos - cello, Yvonne Lam - violin & viola, Zach Brock - violin, Michael Maccaferri - clarinets, Geoff Bradfield - bass clarinet, Matthew Duval - marimba & vibraphone

Oh Chicago! Oh Live Music!

 "image.png"

If a Mozart sonata can alleviate symptoms of epilepsy,

as @lizelle writes here,

 "image.png"

I'm pretty sure Matt's "To Lose Your Mind" could bring sanity to the multitudes.

Matt Ulery. A name to remember. Music to live by.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. I love classical music and was looking for something to listen to this afternoon while I cook. This will do! :)

I'm pretty sure Matt's "To Lose Your Mind" could bring sanity to the multitudes.

Well said @carolkean, and that goes for music in general!
What a privilege it must have been to meet Matt in person, thank you for the introduction as I'm not familiar with his music, I certainly will be listening to this particular piece again, love the sound of the instruments.
Thank you for the shoutout, I do believe music can alleviate the symptoms of many illnesses and in fact help with curing some, obviously in conjunction with medicine!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for your support and upvote @ecency!