Hive Music Festival Week 13 - Round 2 - The Ballad Of St Anne's Reel

in GEMS3 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Hi Guys

(At the start of the video I say week 12 round 2 but I meant to say week 13.This vid is for week 13 round 2 )
I wanted to get in early this week with a new song I learned a few days ago.

The song is called "The Ballad Of St Anne's Reel "

Im sure the song is of French Canadian origin but it was made popular by Irish musicians such as Ronnie Drew of The Dubliners and Liam Clancy and Tommy Makem.

This is my attempt at the song.I choose it this week as there are themes in the song that make me think about Winter .Here in the UK the nights are getting darker and colder and I feel songs like this can help to warm our hearts :)

"The Ballad of St. Anne's Reel"

He was standing in some tiny town
On fair Prince Edward Island
Waiting for a ship to come and find him
A one horse place, a friendly face,
Some coffee and a tiny trace
Of fiddling in the distance far behind them

A dime across the counter then
A shy hello, a brand new friend
A walk along the street in the wintry weather
A yellow light, an open door,
A welcome friend, there's room for more
Soon they're standing there inside together

He said I heard that tune before somewhere
But I can't remember when
Was it on some other friendly shore
Did I hear it on the wind
Was it written on the sky above
I think I heard it from someone I love
But I never heard it sound so sweet since then

Now his feet begin to tap
A little boy says I'll take your cap
He's caught up in the magic of his smile
Then leap the heart inside him went
When off across the floor he sent
His clumsy body graceful as a child

He says there's magic in the fiddler's arms
There's magic in this town
There's magic in the dancers' feet
And the way they put them down
People smiling everywhere
Boots and ribbons,locks of hair
Laughter ,old blue suits and Easter gowns

Now the sailor's gone, the room is bare
The old piano's sitting there
Someone's hat's left hanging on the rack
Some empty chairs, a wooden floor
That feels the touch of shoes no more
Waiting for the dancers to come back

And the fiddle's in the closet
Of some daughter of the town
The strings are broke and the bow is gone
And the case is buttoned down
But often on December nights
When the air is cold and the wind is right
Theres a melody that passes through this town

There was magic in the fiddler's arms
Magic in this town
There's magic in the dancers' feet
And the way they put them down
People smiling everywhere
Boots and ribbons locks of hair
Laughter old blue suits and Easter gowns


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  


Congratulations, @celticheartbeat Your Post Got 100% Boost By @hiveupme Curator.

upme.link

"Delegate To @hiveupme Curation Project & Earn 95% Curation Rewards"

Contact Us : CORE / VAULT Token Discord Channel or Join Us : UPMELINK Web Site

Always giving a great show with great songs my friend. This one does not escape from that list of songs that I have liked and I have known thanks to you. Thank you for being part of this musical movement


image.png