Making Memories Last Forever

in GEMS3 years ago



Memories that Last Forever


If pictures didn't exist how would your memories be remembered? If a blogging platform like Hive didn't exist, how would you remember your feelings at the time the memories were generated?


Lost Memories

Sometimes when I hang out with old friends, I realize how many memories are lost. We talk about things from our past and oftentimes my friends remember things I would never think about.

Imagine how many memories of our children we may forget, but what memories will they keep forever?

Since having a child my main focus lately has been to make great memories for my son. He is only 2 1/2 right now, so I don't expect him to remember anything but I want to prepare my mindset for the glory years of his childhood.

The reason this is important to me is because I was lucky to have a loving mother who gave me an awesome childhood. Even though my Dad passed away before I was born, I have great memories and lots of photos from that time.

I am trying to build upon that, because what would be even cooler is having a record of the memories from my parents point of view... especially now that I am a parent.

I've often wondered how my Dad felt, and how he thought about things considering I am so much different than my mother. I realize in 30 years from now when my son grows up and is my current age I will be entirely different, and it would be really cool for him to know that I was not always as wise as I intend on becoming...

Life is a lot like writing on Hive, you can go around buying things and gossiping about other people's lives or you can take time to record your memories and be grateful for those moments. Those moments you preserve are valuable and being able to look back on how your hard work has compounded over time is even more valuable.


Sources

Photo Editing




Sort:  

Awesome. This concept is a major reason why I got so into blogging my poetry on Steemit back in 2017.

I don't know when I'll finally get around to compiling and publishing in other forms and I think it's so cool that I can document through "abstract journaling" whatever I experience.

Even if all our hard drives and backups get deleted, whatever we post on blockchain is forever — (not sure about image hosting, unfortunately... I've seen quite a few missing images on my oldest STEEM posts, hah!)

Hope you're doing well man!

BTW... what's your username on Deep Dream? I'll give ya a follow over there :-)

It's funny because I got some inspiration from your posts, and the idea of using deep dream itself! I also enjoy making posts like this since they come more from the heart. Every now and then I like to post things to help people, but some people get help from seeing other peoples perspective...

I do wonder if Hive will be around in 30 years, because if it ever vanishes that will be a lot of work lost since I don't really believe in cross-posting. But, I think that's a big reason why it's value will only to continue to rise.

I'm doing ok, still fighting... I don't have nearly the capacity for blogging the way I used to but I hope to keep it going and documenting things like this.

On Deep Dream I think my username is Andrew Bouknight, I assume you must use the paid version - is that worth it?

Hope you are doing well too my friend and thanks for stopping by!

I do wonder if Hive will be around in 30 years, because if it ever vanishes that will be a lot of work lost since I don't really believe in cross-posting. But, I think that's a big reason why it's value will only to continue to rise.

Dang. It's really crazy to try to imagine that long of a timeline when it comes to crypto. It's difficult enough for me to think where we will be in 5 years, let alone decades.

I have a feeling that no project with a meaningful-sized community will "vanish," but all the chains will likely be very easy to instantly swap between. So, if all users migrate to other chains from one token... well, it may be a hard-forked version of what we have now that we're using. Maybe there will be 50 different versions of HIVE that fork off different ways, hah. In that case, we'd still have everything preserved, but "somewhere else."

I'm doing ok, still fighting... I don't have nearly the capacity for blogging the way I used to but I hope to keep it going and documenting things like this.

Keep fighting the good fight, my friend.

On Deep Dream I think my username is Andrew Bouknight, I assume you must use the paid version - is that worth it?

Yeah, I support them on Patreon to be able to process more and higher-quality images. For me it's worth it since I use it frequently for posting on HIVE and also for thumbnail images on YT, etc... and I like to patronize the tech since I see a lot of promise in it.

However, if you just set some of your Dreams to "public" and get enough "upvotes"... your energy capacity will go up a lot even on a free account. People get 500 upvotes per 24 hours so... whatever you post I'll give it a +1 haha!

Love this idea. I was actually thinking about creating another account where I write 1-2 things about my boys everyday and post it. Might be kinda cool to save

Yea, I thought about doing that as well but then I realized I'm a bit greedy and like the extra rewards this account brings... :)

I write about all kind of random things but mostly it's been about my son, since I feel there is a significant emotional benefit in that effort.

I got a whole album I need to print out in the future.

I recently did a subscription that is $15 per month and sends you a photobook every month of 30 photos... I'll struggle to take that many photos so I think it will help me take even more.

Oh? What’s this service?