๐Ÿ“Š Fair Exposure for Dapps, Services and Merchants Powered by Hive

in GEMS โ€ข 4 years ago (edited)

RevenueShare.jpg

The problem:

One of the issues I had with Steem was always stumbling upon DApps and services and wondering why I never found them before. For example I found out about DLease, Curangel, Hive Scribe, Vessel and many other services late. I'm sure many have had similar experiences and it happens for many reasons.

  1. Zero off-chain marketing (built and left to be found)
  2. Made for Github geniuses (some things you can only find searching Git)
  3. Not being accepted by the Whales
  4. Simply didn't ever show up in your feed

Numbers 1 and 4 are far more prevalent, however number 3 causes the most burtn.

When I decided to build HiveWhat.com it was out of fear. Fear of falling into the doldrums as the Corona virus pandemic seemed ready to discount all my gains made locally within the tourism industry, entertainment promotions and more specifically ReggaeSteem.

Things are tough for most everyone. The recession is real, my father and my two brothers (in NYC) are all on unemployment (money printer go brrrrr), and I get the feeling that it's 1920's again up there. I'm the type that takes negative energy and converts it to success. The force is forever with me.... Jah is always there. So I went with my heart, which said to buidl.

And so I did.

This recent Hive pump is a blessing. I charted the asc triangle pattern last week and called the pump down to the hour. That felt good. Real good. But the real blessing came when I checked @hivewhat's analytics.

Hive is killing it right now in Google trends and it shows both in Analytics and Search Console. In a matter of days I've seen a sharp spike in search impressions while holding a steady avg CTR of 6.8%. You may be wondering how does this all come together, what am I going to do now?

Band-aid solution/s:

  1. Provide free social marketing to Hive Dapps (Twitter, Reddit, Facebook etc)
  2. Simplify any listings with info that is 'for nerds'
  3. Not relying on an up-vote to promote/grow the service (also leads to biases)
  4. Incentivise reviews and Hive posts about listings (bounties and giveaways)

In order to spread the (all this new) traffic around the community, I made a small change to the default filter on HiveWhat.com's home/search page. The directory section now shows popular listings in a random order only. Another side effect is it keeps the site looking fresh to the growing amount of daily visitors.

Popular Hive DApps on HiveWhat.com

Screenshot 20200426 at 6.09.44 PM.png


By no means do I believe this solves or even grazes the top of our onboarding or marketing on the new chain. But, every bit helps and I'm doing what I can to help the community and new users to find and enjoy all that Hive has to offer.

As long as we can keep costs down to a minimum while earning a few Satoshis with a-ads, the service will be sustainable. In the future I envision hundreds if not thousands of businesses accepting Hive, including merchants, f&b and consumer goods. HiveWhat.com is to be a stalwart in that future ecosystem. When Hive grows, we grow.

I need help.

There's a couple features I've been working on in the background, but I'm not the best blockchain (nor Hive) dev. If anyone's interested in assisting me with this project early on please contact me. I'm willing to pay reasonable rates and/or provide backlinks and credit to developers.

Thanks for reading!

Peace โœŒ๏ธ


Search the Swarm, find anything on the HIVE Blockchain!


Screenshot 20200406 at 11.37.37 AM.png


HIVE WHAT โ“ Search | Directory | Map | News | Charts | Twitter | Discord


*This post was shared on Twitter, here:

Sort: ย 

Great way to contribute to the community man. Will be definitely checking it out for sure. I will use it in some videos and posts if you donโ€™t mind when I get things started with my coin-Logic.com posts in the next few weeks.

Thanks bro, I'de really appreciate any help on this. Briefly just checked out coin-logic.com, glad to see your on the adoption front as well... beachfrontcrypto.com had a similar premise but tailored to Jamaicans (bitcoin and eth 101 etc). I see the comments are powered by Steempress, I'm gonna add a listing later tonight if that's ok

That would be awesome! Yeah I am getting ready to leave my corporate job in about 3 weeks...FREEDOM!!!! Anyway, lol, I will be writing posts on that site and doing analysis and such and posting all to Hive on my @coinlogic.online account that I recently got started. Just haven't had the time. Can't wait to start posting daily! I will be happy to promote hivewhat.com though!