Being Normal

in GEMS3 years ago

The other day, I remarked that I was looking forward to getting back to normal again. That stopped me right in my tracks because, until then, I was referring to the normal of my everyday used to be life. Will we go back to where we were, or will the times have changed us forever, giving us a new normal?

15875405_10154888864383832_8836484934317702336_o (1).jpg

As a course of seasonal change, nature reveals her beauty, whether blanketed lavishly in color or exposed and unadorned, it is ours, all through the seasons. From light and bright to the rich hues that mark the transition to fall, whereas, her beauty goes to sleep, only to wake up, refreshed once again.

14884571_10154669935178832_4439536357880930318_o (1).jpg

Normal is the expected pattern of usual. Flowers bloom in the spring, die in the fall or when the weather gets cooler.

pink flower.jpg

I will not pretend that for many, working in their pajama pants or bathrobe is new or that social distancing is unprecedented. Social media have been distancing us from each other for years now. I found that distressing, but, now... it has become normal and even accepted.

I used it, but, I really dislike using the word normal to label. Does normal really exist? I think it is used to make people feel the calming effects that word brings.

20200312_091441.jpg

Yet, all it would take is a Guinness to make me feel normal in this shirt and glasses. Don't judge, I am just hanging around waiting for St. Patrick's Day.

Gradient - Green.png

All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

7ohP4GDMGPrU6KTuuW27axCzEyjZonWtNibTWSX2VjAC8vxecq51Ep3XnuznKqZsNtUUNYVCLuPGfBWL2oZfYfUKv9P4yRNKWJ22.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

Patsy Clairmont wrote a book called "Normal is Just a Setting on Your Dryer." I really thing that sums it up. How many times have I adjusted to a new normal? The transition from high school to college, from college to work, from work to marriage, and then motherhood, and moving to new towns, not to mention various health challenges faced by various family members... the definition of "normal" has changed so many times for me, I've lost count.

Wow! When you put it like that, it seems so simple! Thanks!

Normal.....

I agree we were distancing with social media much more than we should have.... well.... those of us that are old enough to remember when that didn't exist and know the difference. Some were born into it and have no idea how great it was before.

Of course, now that we really should be physically distancing for a while, it is good to have an online connection to keep us from feeling isolated.

I long for the day it can be the previous normal. I don't like this one.

I find it odd, yet, here they are ! Old enough to not know any different, and yet, I have not aged a bit. LOL I still feel a connection to that time of 'yore.

I am grateful for the connection and yet, I know we would have done fine without it. Well, I have a houseful here, so if I was alone, it would be a different story. I get it.

Do you have your t-shirt and Guinness ready? And glasses. We can't be Irish without those!

on line connections sure are a big help... 😉

Yah!

Back to normal has mew immediately thinking about all the eeyores bitching about this and that before Covid and lockdowns were even a thing.

image.png

Now, I am mining all the opportunity this upheaval has created to make progress while others are hibernating and waiting it out. Cutting bait on a bad fishing day.

I look forward to a garden full of flowers, seeing which perennials make it back this year, and time out in the yard in bare feet. Til then, heads down and squeezing drops out of life no matter what it currently looks like.

Forgot about my Zordie sig! @zord189

Haha! I knew I could count on you!!!! I am making hay because the sun is still shining!!!!

Hello @zekepickleman! Thank God there is the no whiners line! Glad you jumped in! Yes! Who doesn't love the signature block!??

I never was normal so there is no going back 4 me ....😘

Well, there is that! Do you know how lucky you are?

If you are referring that normal is bad .. Then I am worse than normal and normal would be an improvement ..

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 47 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

Thank you so much for the reposting @pixresteemer! Much appreciated!

Your post is reblogged and upvoted by me. It is a good post. Thank you @dswigle

Social media, HIVE social media, has brought me to some of the best company, present company definitely included.

It is a warm day out there ... time to go get some Vitamin D.

I hear you! What is normal anyway? To me normal is referencing 'how it used to be', but I don't think we will see it quite that way in the end. I think we have to forge ahead and find the good in the 'new normal' whatever that turns out to be. Will I miss the old-yes! Time marches on! Take care @dswigle🍀🍀💜🍀🍀

The normal thing is to be abnormal. It is good only in part but fatal in another. Care must exist at all times and also enjoy the life that we have to live, there is the best secret. The outfit you wear is perfect. Have a perfect day @dswigle

I think life will be the same as before, it only matters how everyone sees it, @dswigle! It only matters what is important to each and we can ignore the changes that bother us. That's what I want to do.

Well for me this virtual life has been a God send. I cannot imagine being basically locked up for a year and not having the computer and internet. I know I would have been nuts by now, well even more nuts than I already am lol. No the virtual life for me has been my guilty pleasure and I have zero guilt about it. Yes when the weather turns better I plan to go out more into nature, but dont see a return to the crowds for sometime.

I am tired of hearing that word normal let's take it out of the dictionary because to me it doesn't exist anymore here in Byron Bay town are living back to what it use to be hugs and kisses flying everywhere 😆😆