Shall I Compare Thee to a Wednesday Walk?

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)


I went for my #WednesdayWalk with @Tattoodjay earlier this morning. You can see his post here read all the rules guidelines, then you can join too! Mine was short and sweet, so this shouldn't take too long. Let's start here, in the front yard, where the flowers are basking in the extra nutrients the rainwater has provided. Or maybe it was the sprinkler? Toss a coin.


AmRc67RgYaWTxvDAy3kqV9QqqA7jKhwN5kfZHmP7zyDiznvh1y66aKVX3xt1hQ2xqmwYJHpj7e72oN3hz1v1R4aZkNxUZX4d8DhuzSDiuYYhFenGfz9qB4qDN9dNu27TPd4svrUExuX29oXcybsLNHRGqxdr1RHQ.jpg


These really caught my attention a few years ago, sitting in the nursery, down on the bottom shelf, all by its lonely. I immediately put them in my cart, wanting to take them home and give them a piece of real estate to call their own. Somebody probably put them down there to save them for later, or not? I couldn't tell and so, they are mine - and I love these cheerful little beacons of sunshine.


IMG_0165.JPG


Red Maples dot the landscape in this area. In the case of newer neighborhoods, they grow fast enough to feel established, all the while keeping their dainty good looks. I take the winding walk that goes around the water, hoping to catch a glimpse of the Mallard ducks that were born under my pine tree on the side of my yard. Every day or so, I can still spot them wading the waters. They are adults but band together as they seem to be bachelors. Of course, I hope they find the right mate come October/November. Mallards have seasonal monogamy. That means they stay together for the season and then, poof! They are done. Next season, their green head gets more colorful and they find another. Hello? Who's your daddy?

Center Crest.png

I love the huge trees surrounding my life. Oh, hug a tree today and embrace its size. I think of how this mighty oak was but a tiny acorn once upon a time. Nature never ceases to amaze me. They do their due diligence and give off oxygen, all the while making our earth a more beautiful place. I love my neighborhood, as most people love where they live. When I think about moving, I wonder if I will find this kind of peace surrounding me? Will I want to spend hours meandering about? Will I find new cows to talk to? More importantly, if I try hard enough, can we lose the bull?


20190602_152444.jpg


It is a short walk through the woods as I make my way to one of the Civil War Battlefields. Virginia is littered with battlefields and historical landmarks. I love living here where it is steeped in history and always has something going on.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmgzNxufwCKeqVZdWn1ctBd3pVePVZCCcC238HL6TZzTde8ZXy1VqZbaCp53nV.jpg


When I first moved to the area, I noticed the unusual fences. This fencing surrounds most of the Civil War Battlefields and was used in that time frame. You will see it used throughout Virginia, Maryland, and some parts of Pennsylvania. I haven't noted any in Ohio, but, somehow, I am sure there is some.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmksCULBsQ6dcb71mXncMAGKpCTKy3iVEQ7XTeDVuFr3NSsVxoZpaNr1xW39Ts.jpg


I was never really fond of its look, however, I have come to appreciate its significance as part of a historical landmark of a time. It wasn't that I thought it was ugly, I just didn't understand the history of it. I guess it is all in how you perceive things.



We all know how this story ends, right? I love the fact that this is so close to my house when I need a little bit of Green Acres in my life. My house has few farms surrounding it and it always pleases me to take in such a nice view when I get too much city in my eyes. It happens! This is truly the best of both worlds. Peeking in, I see only the cows, no bull... I run through the pasture because it is a shortcut!


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmhekSWTDPxMPiRyPdBamoNfZdJ5QpBjWkdcYxwqVgThraicWyZUYHbxvCVXAd.jpg


Don't forget to look up! You might miss the best part of your day! Lift your head and turn your eyes upward.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmkrtU5KHFqmqL6gdGzmPMfYgkDdFZ75qK4HbSAx8zdw277bfX6VrZUHpS2fhu.jpg


Thank you so much for joining me on my #WednesdayWalk. I had a wonderful time showing off what makes my day in this area. There is so much to see, so much to do and truly remarkable people to do it with. Life is good. Embrace it! Love is all around you!


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmitVbWbhtmRpYe2wGSouAQGtZAwwad83zdcE3LcYZ4jTST8qoyA9GW4jzD3Ai.jpg


I have never felt at a loss for culture nor the farming community. You can have both within minutes of any city here. Literally. It is one of the redeeming things this area gives you - after taking in the fact that the traffic is normally horrific. You can't have everything. But you can have a #WednesdayWalk! And just that quick, this show is over. Tag me and I will visit you too! Thank you for allowing me to muse about and as always, I wish you a wonderful day! Before we run off, let me just say that for me, there is #alwaysaflower to color my world. Perhaps you too?


1074969_10151781963673832_1262458749_o.jpg


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

Denise in February 20190211_084736.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimmed:
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Shakespeare


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

Now that was a pleasant walk. It's so beautiful there, how nice to be so close to the city yet so close to green pastures also, no bull!
Of course, I just adore your lovely flowers.
Have a great weekend, it's just around the corner.

Thank you so much for the always wonderful words. They are always so kind and sweet!

Right back at ya!

You do have the best of both worlds Denise with an escape to the country after time in the city. I used to say that about religion… my mother was Catholic and father’s family was Baptist.

I always enjoy your write ups with wonderful words and hints of humor. :)

It really is the best of both and I truly appreciate it. Thank you so much for the always wonderful words. My mother was Catholic and my father was Mennonite.

Best of both worlds. :) For sure. It was a great weekend!

Lovely Wednesday Walk post, @dswigle!

This part about the mallards made me laugh out loud:

Next season, their green head gets more colorful and they find another. Hello? Who's your daddy?

But it was also educational. I guess I assumed they mate for life like geese!

I watched the Civil War in 4 Minutes video. Wow that guy talks fast. I never knew fences played such a big role in the war.

Hahha@ I couldn't help it! When I saw that they were not monogamous, that is the first thing that came to my mind.

Didn't that guy talk fast? I had to watch it a couple of times! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your always gracious words. Have a wonderful week ahead!

He could get a second job as an auctioneer!

What a beautiful walk, you have so much beauty in your area, I like those fences myself and find them interesting and a slice of history now I know a bit more about them

and I also learned a bit more about about mallards and there seasonal monogamy

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks so much and sorry I am so late! I never answered this day's comments, somehow I lost a day! :)

I was shocked when I learned they weren't monogamous!

Thanks for hosting the #WednesdayWalk!

Your so busy it’s understandable

Have a great day

You too@@ The sun of the day is calling your name!

Yes indeed it did a nice quick sunrise walk this morning was refreshing

Such a beautiful place you have been roaming around for Wednesdays walking which have no rules, the flower, feild, cows, sky and in a circle of love of 'O' letter is very beautiful. Have a nice day.

Thank you so much. I am glad that you liked it! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your always gracious words. Have a wonderful week ahead!

Hmm a lovely walk, stunning flowers and amazing trees and cattle. Loved this.

Hi

Hi there , Hope you're having a wonderful day!

Thank you! That is such a lovely comment. Thank you so much for the words.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much for the upvote @ecency ! Much appreciated!

That place seems so beautiful and refreshing just like your write ups 💞 🥺 I'm sure @tattoodjay must've enjoyed your company on your #wednesdaywalk. Loved it 💕

It really was a wonderful place! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your words.

Pleasure is all mine

Amazing nature, the atmosphere looks very peaceful, I really feel that.

Thank you so much.


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Ah yes, nothing like a good walk surrounded by the beauty of nature.

Thank you so much for your words! Much appreciated!

Wow cool shots

Thank you so much!

You're welcome

What a walk it was! Every photo just so full of lovely colors and sunshine! However, as one that was run by a bull, I would be very cautious. They may not look fast, but that is just a disguise!

On that last pic, I think I can hear the sea! Looks like too much fun!

You can hear the sea! How eagle eye of you! ;)

It really was a beautiful walk, and the weather couldn't be lovlier. The bull. I have not been caught by him this year, but, I heard that he got faster.

Yikes.

I can just imagine you walking through the nurseries, watching... waiting... plotting for someone to just maybe put something back for even just a moment, then.. BAM! It's mine now, baybee! 😂

Haha! OMG! You know me so well! :))

Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving your always gracious words. Have a wonderful week ahead!

Spear With A Shared Flame.jpg

The photos are very nice, especially the bright yellow flowers.

Thank you so much!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 68 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
13

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer ! Much appreciated!