Step Back and Breathe

in GEMS3 years ago


The myth falls away, finally..finally...and we see deeper, beneath the surface of everyday attention, and we get a glimpse of unseen beauty and wonder that seems to expand our consciousness. Those moments can be so full that they seem self-authenticating.


Being totally out of one's control, sometimes life gets in the way. All you can do is step back a moment, and breathe. Remember to exhale. Slowly, deliberately and with meaning.


11270549_10153314121343832_8885433321475315925_o.jpg


I have never cared to be put into a certain mold, held together believing I can only live a specific way - stuck in the framework with nowhere to go. Never. So, like most people I know, the virus made life challenging. and, as much as was humanly possible, my family was quarantined forever, until we weren't. But, it hasn't been all bad and there were lessons learned and new relationships forged, learning new skills for some of my family and putting their skills to work.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmhypRD2CFayo6jdFc7SX7JKUVQkVK55NT7fGzMY1nPunzZX9RmB5WMwDamvYH.jpg


It is amazing to step out into nature today, into the world again, even though we have never stopped that part of our lives, it is feeling more optimistic about regaining control of living again. The beauty of life never ceases to amaze these eyes. May you never get cynical enough to let a day pass by without giving it a thought.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmomxtawBTjyKUgU15qXTmomsHiXHLWaPDrWgDzJexVH23xXKS9qD5s72wPJAC.jpg


My hands...They used to look like my hands, but, more and more, they look like my mother's hands. That's not a bad thing. I am quite thrilled that they don't look like my dad's. I have always favored my father's side of the family, he was still blonde when most men his age were all gray. I have never felt anything but a warm glow when people have told me I look like my mother. I adored her, forever and ever. Even in my last moments with my mother, I touched my hand to her face, feeling the warmth of her love, love, love. Forgive me for that, this, of course, has nothing to do with my post, but, I was just thinking of my mom tonight, and probably how much I miss her... and the fact that I am so glad that she didn't have to live her last days during the pandemic.


7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmgztpQFhp5kHUFYKYpJapD4H8TrPC3ficpdR8JVL84DztwRymY53h9ZUU6hwF.jpg


Unquestionably and without a doubt, I love the feeling of being loved and feeling secure in life, something that doesn't always come easy... So yes, wild and free, sailing into the wind, yet vulnerable enough to want it all. There is something so liberating about living freely, sailing off the wind. I leap into life, like an airfoil that cuts through, making a clear path with little resistance.


yelllow.jpg


May there always be a flower, to color your world. #alwaysaflower

Oh, lift my soul when it flowers
With a breath of fresh air
Blowing beautiful thoughts on my world


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

20200312_091441.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Naming of Cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,
It isn’t just one of your holiday games;
You may think at first I’m as mad as a hatter
When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

TS Elliot


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing thoughts about your mother. I know for me, thoughts of my mom are bittersweet, as is so many things in life.
Yes the veil is lifting somewhat, thankfully.

I know they are, and, so are mine. So many things in life are bittersweet, even the nest emptying out. Glad to see them happy and branching off, sad that those times are short and sweet.

The veil is lifting, but, I am just going to stop reading I think.

It is increasingly clear that more infectious variants of concern may drive a new wave of cases in the coming months. The United Kingdom is in a relatively favorable position; cases are declining in spite of the high prevalence of the B.1.1.7 variant, suggesting that the country has a demonstrable ability to control the spread of more infectious variants. In contrast, the United States and parts of the European Union appear to have an increasing prevalence of B.1.1.7.17 The potential for a variant-driven wave of US cases and ongoing spread in Europe in the coming months is real.

Le sigh.

Why not, right?

I wonder if it has to do with their percentage of vaccinated vs ours. Last I heard Connecticut was leading the nation with fully vaccinated %. Here we have no appointment clinics that are sadly empty. Seems like this is as good as it is going to get essentially.

I hope not. Although the large outbreaks in India could potentially affect us. Prolonged large outbreaks in any country increase the possibility of new variants. Some of the variance couldn't evade immune response is triggered by vaccines and previous infections.

But, live we must.

Oh yes I see your point. Perhaps we should tighten the borders. I am not sure how that stands now?

More studies suggest that the two main vaccines in the U.S. — from Pfizer and Moderna — can protect against several variants, including the contagious B.1.1.7 variant first identified in the U.K. and the B.1.351 variant first identified in South Africa, so its possible we are not as bad off as I thought.

This was so refreshing. It does feel good to get out again.

Isn’t it amazing how we slowly see the transformation of us looking more like and even acting more like our parents? That was a beautiful thought you shared about your mother. 🌺

Beautiful flowers and lovely photos of them. I am beginning to appreciate the sight of them more and more ~ ♥️

Thank you so much. Lovely. You are so thoughtful in your replies, each small point that I was trying to make,

It has always amazed me, these little things called genes. In a roomful of extended family, i aee traits of my immediate family all over. I love that I could take away something from my mom. ❤ and I just realized tomorrow is Mothers Day. Actually today.

Happy Mother's Day!

I think it’s so special that you have similarities as your mom ~ ♥️

Happy Mother’s Day to you as well. I hope you enjoy every moment!

Haha! Oh, my! You give me a giggle.

Thanks for that. ❤️

This was the post I needed to read today, to be reminded that breathing and living in the moment are so important.

I enjoyed reading about your memories of your mother, @dswigle. You must have had a really special relationship with her. I am also glad my parents did not have to experience the pandemic. What a challenging time for elderly people.

But I have to say, this really made me smile:

They used to look like my hands, but, more and more, they look like my mother's hands. That's not a bad thing. I am quite thrilled that they don't look like my dad's.

Hugs!

Just breathing is so easy, we forget that sometimes it is the simple things in life that are the best.

My mom was so very special and her passing still feels like a fresh wound some days. I know so many people that are caring for/looking in on their parents, but, with COVID, it has made it such a challenge. Because my dad had Alzheimer's, I am glad they didn't live through that. That sounds terrible, but, there was much gratefulness in my heart about that.

:)) Well, my dad had really large hands and I never admired how pretty they were, only how strong they were.

Hugs! Thank you so much for stopping by! ❤️

We all wish to regain living again but out of it all beauty is still surrounds us. It never stops and comforts us when we feel blue.

Hey Denise may you have a wonderful day today. 🙂

I know that what you say is true. There is still all that beauty surrounding us, and, it is exactly that which has kept us from sinking into the deep crevices of this virus. I was able to enjoy nature, at what I consider an even deeper level. She wasn't being abused at quite the normal rate, so she was giving more back to the environment.

How sweet is that? Once again, Mother Nature steps up to the plate and gives us what we need. I hope you had a wonderful day also! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words!

Standing still and breathing are so basic and so beautiful to us human beings, a secret pastime only known by the very special. Love style @dswigle🌸

It really is and it is always the small things that make the biggest differences, to me anyway. You are such a kind and gentle soul, my friend. Love you bunches. I hope you had an amazing day! ❤️

Wonderful FLOWERS, today! Thanks for sharing with us.

I am so happy you like them!! Mission complete!

I feel like I'm reminiscing from the past. The words are so lovely and the flowers as well. It's funny how to look back yesterday but it feels like missing something.

Thank you so much. That is what memories do, make us feel like we are missing something. :))

Many of us probably influenced by our father's characteristics as he dominant over the family but later we discovered that mother is alwalys endurable and take care about all of us. Love of mother can't be express with any thing or words. Take a derp breath and release slowly, have a nice day.