Feeling the financial effects of the MCO

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

I went down to my cars yesterday to conduct my MCO (Movement Control Order) weekly ritual of driving them around the condo parking lot, only to make the unfortunate discovery that one of them cannot be started thanks to a dead battery.

Yes, despite my diligently keeping their batteries charged by driving them around regularly because we don't travel alot during MCO, this one died anyway.

Alright, the truth is - this battery was already 4 years old and has been living on borrowed time. The MCO didn't really caused it's expiry, maybe just accelerated it a little. From another perspective this is fortuitous because it pumped it's last crank at home instead of leaving me stranded outside in the middle of a pandemic.

batteryoldbatt1.PNG

Since I have another car, I wasn't really in a rush to replace it. But considering the chances of that one dying as well is markedly increased during these idle days, I decided to get online with bateriku.com and ordered a replacement.

Luckily, since their services are categorized as essential services, they are allowed to operate during MCO. So around noon today the technician arrived at my condo with a fresh battery, ready to revive my car.

batterychecking.jpg

A quick check with a battery tester confirmed what I already know, but with additional hilarity as the voltage was still decent but the CCA was way low, as indicated by the 0% health. This goes to show that those so-called "battery testers" that only measures voltage are utterly useless.

batterydiagnose.jpg

I opted for the Amaron Hi Life Pro battery as I have consistently read good reviews about them, and I am also using the same model in my other car. It also helps that the battery comes with 18 months warranty.

I swear this is not a sponsored post. I wish it is though.

batterybox.PNG

The whole affair took just 10-15 minutes. I paid the guy and sent him on his merry to answer another distressed car owner. It seems battery dealers are making a killing during MCO, according to the technician I was the 5th customer today, and it was only 1pm.

batteryinstallnew.jpg

If you have been leaving your car sitting unmoved for a prolonged period of time due to any form of COVID-19 related lockdown, now would be a good time to find out if there are any repair or replacement services you can call up in a pinch.

The last thing you want is to find yourself in an emergency and a car that wouldn't start.

RIP Yokohama Gold MF DIN55R, you have served well. May your innards be recycled and become useful once more.
batteryoldbatt2.PNG