The journey ahead with all this insecurity

in GEMS3 years ago

image.png

On Sunday afternoon I was at home when I heard some rounds being shot. Nigeria is so weird that you have to think of what time of the year you are in before you get scared when you hear a sound like that.

I don't want to be running into my toilet and hiding in a corner when it's only bangers and fireworks.

When I heard the sound I first thought of the time of the year before I took cover in my toilet. After some thought, I went back to switch off my lights all the while thinking "Oh shit, Oh shit".

I thought there was some sort of revolution about to start and now I would be caught in the middle of it. It wouldn't be long before someone would be breaking my door down to take whatever resource they could get from me and if they couldn't get anything..they would kill me to send a message to the others in the neighborhood...that they were not to be messed with.

10 minutes after the shooting everywhere was quiet and I could not hear the footsteps of people running to safety anymore and my room close to the road where everything went down could not sense vehicles anymore.

I heard cries from people not too far away after some time. I figure that's when she died.

I am not brave

Yesterday I saw someone trashing doctors on his status about the incidence and all I could do was read it and say nothing. Cause I am too chicken to confront a person who needed medical services and I could not provide and in that event someone died.

She was a medical physiotherapy student of the federal university and to say the truth, I think she could have been anyone. Me...or any bystander in broad daylight.

Rumour has it that she was videoing the event. I think the rumors are stupid cause she is dead...and she did not have to die. I can't believe someone would blame a corpse knowing it can't defend itself for its own death.

How does this make me feel?

Unsafe...I will stick to staying indoors most times...

Will I go for my morning cycling?

Will I stay indoors forever? Won't I still have to face the reality that the streets are unsafe?

I will just have to look left and right before I cross as I have always been taught to do.

Sort:  

Nigeria is really ridiculous. It's no longer a strange occurrence to me anyway.

Mehn...and ih no suppose be like that

That is a very tough and sad place to be. Your voice and others are beems of light. Violence is not being brave, we are not animals we are people and we need to solve conflicts in an intelligent manner. That said, using physical force to defent inocent people is required. Maybe gathering a community of neighbourhood watchers might increase safety.

Anyway keep safe and thank you for sharing.

That seems like a nice idea...but the thing is the community is polarised in support and against these activities.

I hope we can do something as soon as possible...at least finding the people responsible...

Where is the police?

Lol...I don't know...

But here is a funny story that might explain where they are...

Someone was greeting his police officer friend who was dressed casual and he shouted on the street..."officer!!"

The police officer called him to side and warned him not to do that.

I think they are hiding

Omg

Yeah...its like this in the eastern part of the country right now...

I think the north is no better too

Sorry to hear about this violence in Nigeria. There is something you can do about it though, without exposing yourself to additional risk of being targeted.

It will need some reading by you and others to understand and help bring into being an equitable and anonymous community consensus governance system.

Please read the comment i made In response to the police violence toward @josediccus and @belemo (@belemo, i am very interested to hear your thoughts about my proposal).

My comment is here:
https://ecency.com/hive-167922/@josediccus/beaten-harassed-and-dehumanized-by-the-police-as-crypto-still-remains-illegal-in-nigeria#@atma.love/re-josediccus-2021103t112847602z

Peace and Love
Atma

I'm really grateful about this...I will check it out...

Thank you. i intend you find passion, courage and perseverance to fully research Matrix-8 and to comment and ask questions in the post comments to enable a good understanding of how it works, which will help the network grow and ultimately help those in Nigeria and all around the world break free from the slavery of The Powers that Shouldn't Be.

Thank you...I will...

I no fit dey for nothing

Living in perpetual fear is second nature to most Nigerian. Fear of the police; fear of criminals; fear of losing their means of livelihood, etc. Fear reigns supreme and it is feels shitty but I can't navigate this sphere being fearful. We summon courage, even if just a little to dream and hope for a better life. Sorry about your experience. Things like this can be really traumatic. You are brave enough to share

Thanks bro...na to jakpa get us oh...