Tree Tuesday

in GEMS4 years ago

Riber Castle is a 19th century Grade II listed country house overlooking Matlock, Derbyshire. It was built by the industrialist John Smedley in 1862. Later on, the castle became a boys' school, then a food storage place in World War II for the Ministry of Defence. It then remained empty until the 1960s when it was then turned into a zoo. When I was at junior school in the 1960s, every school in the area visited Riber Castle. It wasn't the greatest zoo and I hate zoos to this day. The last I heard it was to be turned into apartments but I think its now boarded up.

I just love the autumn colours at the moment.

#treetuesday initiated by @old-guy-photos.

Photos by @ellenripley - Julie S. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

Manually curated by blacklux 💡Hurricane Rider 🌪 from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much!

Beautiful shots! Strong colours!

Thank you. It's great this time of year.

Yep! You do have that special light in autumn. I wish we had more changes in lighting quality.