WRC 6 Guaranteed when it comes to speed and fun

in GEMS4 years ago

Despite having a good tradition in motorsports, here in Venezuela we are not in the habit of following rally competitions. This culture also ends up transferring to our interest in games. Throughout my life I played a lot of Formula 1 games, the fantastic Gran Turismo series and traditional games full of super cars, but I rarely escaped from that line.

My relationship to rally games can be defined by the Sega Rally Championship, back in the days of Sega Saturn, and Codemasters' iconic Dirt Rally.

But WRC 6 is different, the game bears the difficult responsibility of being the official title of the FIA ​​World Rally Championship.

wrc-6-world-rally-championship-cover.jpg
Source


Link Youtube

From the beginning I already noticed that the game is taken very seriously, the goal is to make the experience of driving a car on dirt roads, frozen tracks and muddy terrain is the closest thing to real.

The game is not easy. For those who are not used to rally games, it is necessary to slightly reduce the difficulty, which by default is already at the difficult level. The dynamics are very different from racing games on the track, in the WRC it is important to accelerate, but using the brakes wisely is what will determine a good position.

The highlight of WRC 6 is the immersion. As soon as the race begins, it is impossible to take your eyes off the screen. The feeling of speed is incredible and, for those who like to play with the camera in the first person, it is possible to feel strong anxiety in the midst of so much movement.

The size of the tracks is another element that attracts me a lot. They are not long enough to make the game boring, but not fast enough to be trivial. There is a clear spirit of challenge to complete each route.

The tracks are difficult and with routes that require a lot of skill, but the excellent gameplay means that all this difficulty is not frustrating, leaving only the desire to continue improving.

As for the graphics, the cars are very beautiful, but the setting could be much better. The game is not ugly, it is quite reasonable, but since the focus seemed to be realism, I thought that the textures could have been more worked.

I expected more from the sound, I thought I would feel the motors vibrating in the headphones, but I was left with the unsatisfied expectation. A little more bass and details of the environment will make the dive much more fascinating.

When I received the game, I quickly sat down to try, but ended up playing for a good few hours. It is clear that the game is not about technical points, but it is guaranteed when it comes to speed and fun.

I waited until it was much more casual than it really is, but I was wrong. To get good positions you need training and concentration, the game will not give you a free first place.

For those who are not used to rally games, I recommend a video where a driver teaches them how to use the brake, the handbrake and the timing of downshifts.

I greatly improved my time after understanding the real world technique.

The following video is a YouTube link

20200709_133615.gif