DIY - Home Baked Pizza Rolls And Some Flour Tricks

in GEMS4 years ago

There are many different types of pizza, among which there's this pizza roll, the easiest and the best at the moment for me. A month ago I posted a Homemade Pizza Rolls, today I'm back with another recipe, a different one.

IMG_20200510_182831a.jpg

I have my own pizza recipe but from time to time I like to try out new recipes. There are far too many good recipes to stick with just one. After surfing for a few minutes I came across Jamie Oliver's Pizza dough

It seemed interesting enough to try it out. He's using a mix of flour, which is normal, I'm mixing flout all the time but using semolina in a pizza dough is not.

Ingredients
1 kg white bread flour or Tipo '00' flour , or 800g strong white bread flour or Tipo '00' flour, plus 200g finely ground semolina flour.

I love semolina and keep some at home all the time for semolina pudding, plus I'm using it for fruit cakes when the fruits are too wet and also for meatball, but never for pizza. It was about time to try this recipe out, so here's my version.

IMG_20200510_182855a.jpg

Ingredients for the dough

  • 200g spelt flour,
  • 100g semolina flour,
  • 700g Tipo '000' flour,
  • 750 ml warm water,
  • 1 tsp salt,
  • 1 tsp sugar,
  • 25g fresh yeast,
  • 4 tbsp extra virgin olive oil.

Ingredients for the topping

  • pizza sauce,
  • pepperoni,
  • grated cheese,
  • oregano,
  • chopped black olives.

Method

Working with fresh yeast is always better for me, not that dry yeast is not good. Normally for 1kg flour they recommend 50g fresh yeast but I see no point in using that much as half is enough.

IMG_20200510_152049a.jpg

So I cut the yeast cube in half and added the other half to 400ml warm water and added 1 tsp sugar, then let it rise in a warm place for 10 minutes.

Put the flour mix in a mixing bowl, add salt, olive oil, then the yeast. Add the rest of the water and knead gently till you get a non-sticky dough. Add more flour if needed.

IMG_20200510_155905a.jpg

This is my dough after kneading. I'm usually sprinkling the dough with a little bit of flour before covering and resting.

So cover and let rest at a warm place for an hour, till doubles.

IMG_20200510_171719a.jpg

After the dough has doubled, divide the dough in half, roll half out on a floured working surface to get a rectangle.

IMG_20200510_172109a.jpg

Spread the pizza sauce out evenly. I'm using my homemade pizza sauce made of home grown vegetables, that's why it looks like that.

IMG_20200510_172151a.jpg

Sprinkle with dried oregano, or any other herb you like.

IMG_20200510_172319a.jpg

IMG_20200510_172433a.jpg

Add pepperoni and chopped olives or whatever you like, ham, sausage, pineapple, vegetables, etc..

IMG_20200510_172602a.jpg

Sprinkle with grated cheese, then roll.

IMG_20200510_172832a.jpg

Use a plastic cutter and slice.

IMG_20200510_172843a.jpg

The thickness of the slices depends on you but as you can see, mine are about 1 inch.

IMG_20200510_173113a.jpg

Place the rolls in a baking tray covered with baking paper and bake till it's done. I wish I could tel, you the exact time but my oven is old.

IMG_20200510_182824a.jpg

This is so easy, no reason not to try it at home. Make your own pizza and at least you know what you're eating. You won't regret it, I can guarantee that.

Check out my latest recipes:

Sort:  

Shared on Twitter

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 5 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Many thanks.

Very clear introduction how to make Pizza dough since home easily. Ingredients can find ans instructions also simple to follow. Final output mouth watering one and I closed my eyes. Thanks a lot.

Thanks for stopping by and I'm glad you like it, have a nice evening.

These rolls look delicious. I am sure they taste delicious too.

Homemade tomato sauce? Wonderful!

@tipu curate

Thank you very much.

That looks so tasty. Yum, yum! 😋
Thanks for the recipe and guide through.

My pleasure, I wish I could send you some 🍕😁

Send it via email, please! 🙃

Ufffff looks delicious

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!