The Day that Changed America

in GEMS3 years ago

I was watching a movie recently filmed in the 1990's, when they panned across the New York City skyline. The twin towers of the World Trade Center stood sentry in the distance. It brought my own back memories of the day 9/11 happened.

I was fast asleep and didn't wake until 2PM. Something was wrong as the answering machine light blinked repeatedly as it was completely full. Pressing the button, delivered the first message from a family member: "Turn on the TV NOW!"

At the time as one of the first to get high-speed broadband, my hand reached for the computer mouse, and I fired my box up. Back then, the browser of choice was Netscape Navigator and It quickly loaded the Netscape homepage. The text said something like "World Trade Center Destroyed."

So at this point, I'm thinking maybe I was looking at an old cached page from the 1990's Trade Center bombing and then refreshed the page. The text remained, so I clicked on the story. Now remember, I slept through everything that happened that morning, so I was able to see the video of the first tower collapsing without being influenced by theories of what had happened.

Now after the first few viewings and seeing the floors pancake down, I thought "Looks like a controlled demolition." It was only after that, that I saw the videos of the planes flying into the buildings, which added yet another angle to the story. Later in the day, Tower 7 would collapse straight down, paired with videos taken inside the structure with the sounds of explosions echoing in the background.

This left me shocked and wondering what new war would be launched in response to this unfolding national tragedy. I would spend the rest of the day calling friends and contacting people I knew in New York, trying to get even more information. The gloating that we saw online from people in the Middle East, led me to shut off all chat/forums as I worried about what in the world would happen next.

Stepping out over the next few days, the sight of giant American flags gave me some comfort as our nation came together as one. What are your memories of 9/11? For me, it's a day I'll never forget.

Thank You So Much!

Please check out my recent posts:

Image credit: 1