Untitled Practice Drawing

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting on here so I'll make a quick intro.
I am a 24 year old self-taught hyper-realist, I started hyper-realism a few years ago, and I mostly make portraits. My skills are not as great as I would like them to be, I can chalk that up to my laziness cos I don't practice as often as I should. I started out with animated characters before eventually settling on hyperrealism.

I used Graphite and Charcoal on Strathmore paper, with a white gel pen for the highlights around the eyes and the mouth. These days, I'm trying to use less tools to create highlights, the whiteness of the paper should suffice.

I messed up on the background though, I had to erase the initial background I wanted, this of course damaged the paper a bit so I had to improvise with this new one. It was all I could come up with to try and save it. Not the best background I've ever done, but hopefully, the portrait makes up for it.

•••

So, here is the finished product

IMG_20190814_185538_411.jpg

It's a very small practice drawing, coming in at only 9 x 7 in. I used graphite and charcoal pencils on Strathmore 300 paper

•••

IMG_20190814_134111_733.jpg

For Highlights, I mostly prefer to utilize the color of the paper, but in this case, I used a White UniPosca Pen, mostly around the eyes and the lips. I use a Tombow Mono Zero eraser or a Faber-Castell Pencil Eraser to bring out the fine details.

•••

LogoLicious_20200429_232353.png

For blending, I use Blending stumps, cotton bud or a small brush

•••

IMG_20200429_232151_326.jpg

•••

This was how I started

20200429_222211.jpg

I always start my drawings with a grid , I'm not so good as to draw freehand yet, lol. After the grid, I outline the profile of the subject, and the move from there.

(I'll update this later with a picture of the tools I use)

Sort:  

Welcoming to Hive
I hope you find this place enjoyable

Thank you 😊

Manually curated by blacklux 💡 from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank You

Congratulations @feoluwart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz - Hive Gamification Experience
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

Welcome back! Saw your tweet. :)

Thank You

Stunning sketch art, bringing a little face to reality.

Fabuloso!!!!! impresionante.....

your talent is amazing welcome

Wow! That’s a fantastic first post, some seriously cool skill!

Don’t put yourself down so much, it’s ace, and welcome to HIVE!

Thank You

Amazing art work, well done! Welcome to Hive :)

Thanks. Good to be here.