Games: to play or not to play

in GEMS4 years ago

I gather that thanks to the international and enforced stay-at-home, there's been a whole lot more game-playing going on. Of one sort or another. Or is there? I have, before, nailed my colours to the mast about board games. The same applies to video games. I don't get them. Well that's not strictly true. I do. Thereby hangs a tale. Of course.

Once upon a time...


A gazillion years ago, and in a past life, I lived with a computer geek. He taught IT at the local school. At the time, South Africa was still subject to severe economic sanctions. No Apple products. No graphic user interfaces (GUIs). The mouse was a very recent addition to the then limited computer peripherals.

Even further back in time


Let me digress

When I was studying for my teachers’ diploma, some nine years earlier, Rhodes University was (probably still is), a world leader in computer science and was instrumental in bringing the internet to South Africa.

Part of my late mother’s job at the university involved the purchase of computers – from the hardware for mainframes to early Apples – in the 1970’s. Then, in the 1980’s sanctions happened and every Apple-branded piece of hardware became obsolete: overnight.


The university's main building. My mother's office was behind one of the ground floor windows - bottom right. I took this photo on a visit there, in 2010.

While all this serious stuff was going on, Pacman arrived. As far as I know, there was only one “arcade” in Grahamstown where one could play the game: at the entrance to Kaif (i.e. the café) where we would congregate for coffee, a natter and just generally hang out.


Source

 

Pacman was rarely quiet. I only ever recall men directing his gobbling. Including after I started work in Johannesburg. A colleague and I used to catch the same bus after work and each day we’d frequent the same corner shop. I’d be getting something that needed a fridge (which I didn’t have – another story for another time); he would buy the paper. Not to read, but rather for change to feed Pacman. A not negotiable task before heading home to his partner and infant daughter.

Back at Rhodes


My education course included an introduction to computers and their role in education. And, while I’m digressing, those were the early days of the debate about the role of information technology in schools and learning, generally. Most feared that computers would usurp human teachers. That was thirty-five years ago. Those fears – in some quarters – remain. Unfounded, in my opinion. Nothing about the move to online education has detracted from the fact that the most successful education and learning remain mediated by humans.

Dad, Mum and I at my 1985 graduation.

Anyhow, one of our assignments included designing a computer-based activity or lesson: using Apple Pilot. I struggled. My really sophisticated lesson was a pathetic attempt at computerising the word game, Hangman.


The computer geek with whom I later lived, developed a Geography lesson that illustrated adiabatic lapse rates. An arts major (male) friend developed a murder mystery in a ghost house with – for the time, and for a novice – the most amazing, ghostly green and black graphics.

Back to the Future (as it were)


Fast forward nine or so years to when I was the proud owner of an ICL Elf, and the height of economic sanctions. Although Nelson Mandela had been released, the country had not been released of sanctions. One day, the computer geek came home with a pirate copy of a very early PC, DOS version of SimCity. He loaded it on to his PC, and introduced the game and I. One game and the urban geographer in me was hooked. It had to be loaded on to the Elf. The game was as fascinating as it was addictive.

Source

Alas, or fortunately, the game went the way of the Elf, and probably a good thing, too. That said, in doing my homework for this post, I discover that one can still download it. I desisted.

So, the closest I get to video games, now, is one or other game of Solitaire that comes, free, with Windows.


Oh, and for those not part of the same venerable generation as I, the reason that Bill Gates included solitaire in the first version of Windows (the first “non” Apple GUI), was to “introduce” the mouse.

As simple as apple pie - not


That mouse reminds me: about a year before I moved in with the computer geek, I worked for an organisation that had strong ties with the US – notwithstanding sanctions. A dedicated Apple PC had been donated to the development office. Complete with a database and system for managing donor relations.

But:


No user manual. No help desk. No support.

It was my first introduction to a mouse and my first serious interaction with a PC in a few years, with my previous Apple "pie" having been less than memorable. It was only when I upgraded from the Elf and to a PC with a mouse, that I discovered why I’d never mastered the development office Apple: I had been using the mouse on its head!!!

Back to games: I have long thought that they are a guy thing. I've said so before, that I have an unscientific theory about games and boys:

I have often been struck by the time that the male of the species will spend either on playing a game, or creating (a) game(s) and striving for perfection. Frankly, I have too much to do - in the kitchen, around the house and just getting on with life. It was one of my pet peeves that my ex-husband could would live in a pig sty and eat swill and spend all his spare time on a game. I just didn't get it.

So, my theory is that women actually have a whole lot less free time than men. Whether we like it or not, managing the home and caring for children is still primarily women's work - over and above what we might do to earn a living. Time on their hands, and what do men who don't have a hobby, play sport and who no longer hunt for food, or go to war, do?

Create and play games.

What, on earth, is she on about?


All that to say , again, that I don't do games? Well blame it all on the bunch on Hive that run the monthly Top 3 contest. This month's theme: top three favourite video games. Clearly, I have none.

As I keep on saying, I don't participate to compete, but because it's fun. More than a year later, my participation continues with much egging on by the good folk that run it. Because the topics get the "Fiona treatment"...

So, without further ado, this is not an entry, but I shall allocate the proportion of earnings from this post that would normally have been my entry fee for the contest, to the @yourtop3 account.

I trust that this month's "Fiona treatment" passes muster!

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma

 

Post Script

In yet another aspect of my life, I offer

online English tutoring services


every day conversation and formal presentations
writing - emails and reports, academic and white papers
formal grammar, spelling and punctuation
more information here

And then there's more:

  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
    • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a ko-fi?
    • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts because of this.
  • If you’re interested in a soft entry into the world of crypto currency and monetising WordPress blog, use the fantastic Steempress plugin to post directly to the Hive blockchain. Click on the image below to sign up

  • I’m still blogging on Steem with the occasional post on Medium.
 

Posted from my WordPress blog with SteemPress : https://fionasfavourites.net/games-to-play-or-not-to-play/
Sort:  

I was so sad to find out that when I got my laptop with Windows installed on it, that it did not come with Solitaire :( I enjoy a good game of cards on free time. It used to come in a package sort of thing, where there's also minesweeper, spider solitaire and maybe perhaps one more, I just cant remember. Boo to the makers. Boooooooo

You should be able to find spider solitaire in the Windows play store... I 🤗

Oh amazing, I think these would always be trendy.

Hahaha! The games probably are. I, however, am probably not....

Well, you're definitely right about one thing - this did get the "Fiona Treatment" 😃

Pacman is an arcade classic, just look at Q being hunted down in the intro post! It's still very much one of the most recognised arcade games going. Solitaire is a good time waster for anyone although I didn't get into Sims. Think simulation style games weren't my thing.

So you're not entering this month? Well thank you for the donation to the prize pool 😊

An offering of only two? And are they video games? At a stretch, I suppose...

Yes, I noticed Q's potentially being gobbled. I know with the resurgence of Pacman, grandfathers are playing it with their grandchildren....

I am glad the "Fiona Treatment" worked... 🙃

I'm pretty sure there's 3 games you've mentioned here which would be eligible even by Q's standards!

  • SIMS
  • Pacman
  • Solitaire

Definition of video game a-la Google

image.png

#justsaying

Ok, then. I hereby advise Q, that I shall enter.... I bow to your, and her professor Google's superior knowledge... 🙇

As if on cue, there he is!

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

image.png

Q

image.png

Did @nickyhavey tell you I admitted I actually learned solitaire the "old-fashioned" way? Though I can admit to playing on the computer on more than one occasion, my maternal grandmother was a sucker for card games, so much of my "gaming" time in my youth was played with actual cards. I've actually realized while typing this that it might be nice to dust off a pack and use it as a form of meditation once in a while. I do recall playing what I think is a later version of SimCity during my Freshman year of college for fun for a few months while living in the dorms. I can see much validity in your theory of gaming, as well. Glad to see Nicky talked you around to switching this to an official entry. Can't let the guys have all the fun. ;)

Hahahaha! Sometimes one can't see what's in front of one's nose. And no, we'll not leave the fun to them...

I will still play patience - and a range of them - if I can get my hands on a pack of cards. Such lovely memories of your granny, I'm sure! Nothing like the slap and click of shuffling of a pack of cards. And I do still use solitaire on the computer as a time for letting things mull - like when I get too close to something I'm working on. So, it looks as though it's time-wasting, but there's quite a lot going on behind that staring expression!!

My father taught me a game of patience called "Elevens". Adding certain numbers to make 11 - which I now never get wrong - is entirely thanks to that. The rest of my mental arithmetic is, well, just that - mental. A bit like me, I dare say... 🤣

mental. A bit like me

🤐

I played the original Sim City on my old computer when I was a kid, that game was awesome! :)

Hahaha! Oh yes, many an hour building and crashing cities!! And going back and dealing with brown-outs, and... I dare not, again. I'll be gone for days... 🤣

I think computer games, both play and building are perfectly good hobbies, I still don't understand why so many see games and reading as not hobbies. That said I did enjoy reading your post, a lot of history in there and sometimes it seems we never get enough history, or that the history is so easily lost in looking back only at the good parts of it.

Ha! Hobbies, that's better than an obsession. And thank you for the kind words.

It certainly does Fiona. No reason why we shouldn't stick you in for the dpoll though. Some great suggestions to put forward and fascinating history.

I don't disagree with you on your theory of boys and games. I think there is absolutely something in what you are saying. Although the landscape is changing in regards to female gaming. There is money to be made by the industry in enticing the other gender into this space, whether it be creating or playing.

I watched the PlayStation 5 launch yesterday. It was advertising all the games that are going to be released in and around launch time. It's interesting that of the 25 or so games that they showed, the ones that had a clear lead character were all female. And those characters are mostly warriors and/or assassin's. Definitely an agenda going on there. Interesting that nearly all the game designers and developers that were presenting were 30something males.

You never fail to get me thinking! 😉

Gaz

Why thank you, Gaz!

Yes, there is a shift in the population of gamers: I see it here and also as more of the "mainstream" games like scrabble move online - thanks to Facebook.
Lots of old biddies (I need to be careful 😆) I know, play it. I also think that as some of the domestic responsibilities change and as e-games are developing a "space" of their own as a sport is having a huge influence. Almost making gaming mainstream.

It's also interesting how female leads are creeping in to all sorts of things. The cynic and feminist in me is tempted to ask about whether the images conform to the stereotypical female heroine. And which I hereby do...ask...

This kind of thing is kind of front of mind for me as we've just had another slew of femicides in South Africa. What a world...