8 Years Old - Saturday

in GEMS2 years ago

Yesterday was our oldest's 8th birthday and he was rather excited. After staying up far too late Friday night I felt pretty rough in the morning and after getting my posts done I went out to soak alone for a while since she wasn't up yet. I was out around 9 to let the birds out and try to get my NaNo writing done for the day.

IMG_20211120_083959.jpg

A large part of the morning the boys played on @stryeyz old Gameboy that still works after all these year. I setup the old NES as well but there wasn't time in the day to play it, so they will get to today. she took the boys to town and j got to pick out his gifts, the few things that he knows he will enjoy plus some books that he has most of the series, the Dogman books.

While they were in town I was able tom finish up my writing for the day which took a rather long time since I was still feeling pretty rough. As the day wore on I perked up some more.

IMG_20211120_140608.jpg

He really likes the "digging adventure" things where he has to break into the blocks and chip away to find the hidden things inside. OMG was it loud all the banging, but he enjoyed it. This one had a bunch of stones like obsidian in it.

IMG_20211120_143208.jpg

Both boys got another pair of blocks to break apart. Each had a 1 in 24 chance of getting either a tiny diamond or a drop of actual gold. Well, both boys got one. J pulled out the diamond from a diamond shaped block he broke apart and R pulled the gold from a yellow bar shaped block. Both of them are ecstatic and I am a bit surprised myself. Now to just keep them from losing them....

IMG_20211120_153558.jpg
IMG_20211120_153615.jpg
IMG_20211120_153624.jpg
IMG_20211120_153631.jpg

This was one of the diamond shaped blocks and the aftermath.

IMG_20211120_153655.jpg

Mid afternoon we had a half hour window before our friends showed up so we went out for a quick daytime soak.

IMG_20211120_155029.jpg

I had a fire going in the pit most of the afternoon and so while in town @stryeyz had picked up turkey dogs so I grilled up 20 of them and we made a couple bagged salads which managed to feed the whole group. The kids played J's new Space Monopoly game on the floor while eating and the place is still a bit of a disaster this morning. They had to take off for home before cake time as they had a hour drive.

IMG_20211120_180122.jpg

We used the number and letter cake pan to make his 8 cake. Thins is really rather slick. We pretty much have it only for November as that is when both boy's birthdays are.

IMG_20211120_185123.jpg
IMG_20211120_191757.jpg

Cake was had and both boys pinged the sugar rush meter rather quickly. We went out for the night soak but I was so tired I was about asleep in the hot water.

IMG_20211120_203730.jpg

Today will be cleanup after the melee of yesterday. I feel a good bit better this morning so hope to get my writing done earlier. I am at 38,307 words which has me 3 full days ahead of schedule.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

What I loved most is the idea of the cake! I love baking and thus get mesmerized seeing beautiful varieties of cake. Thanks for sharing! ;)

The pan really helps make the shapes. It allows to make the full alphabet and 0-9. Can do double digits just need to make 2 cakes and put them side by side.

Love That digging game I’ve seen these before. For a minute I thought you were adding blue bath bombs to the jacuzzi.

OMG that would be such a mess to deal with! It would look super cool but...

The treasure things are pretty nifty. When I was a kid in California we went to try gold panning and got to keep the little bits of gold we found. There isn't any where close like that to us now so these suffice. The boys love them.

Nice birthday. My children also love to play gameboy, although recently one of them broke the screen. I dont have SNES, but I got Wii that I bought in 2010 and on Wii there is SNES and Sega emulator :)

You can probably find parts for the Gameboy somewhere online...
We have the NES, Gameboy, Wii, and a Switch. The Switch gets the most use of all them so far.

I have a game similar to Space Monopoly, but a bit more involved in space travel and resource management. It's called Solar Quest, and the property cards are also fact cards about the various satellites and planets you can purchase.

I'll have to keep that in mind for them for a year or two.

It's long out of print and overpriced on the secondary market last I knew. I haven't played mine in ages though, so I might be willing to swap it for HIVE as I go full evil crypto-capitalist.

Happy birthday a little late to J! Sounds like they had a grand day!