One more day thanks to the storm - Friday

in GEMS4 years ago

Woke up early to a cool sunrise and 8 deg F outside. I didn't step out to get a pic as I didn't feel like shocking myself awake. We had only gotten a skiff of snow around the area as the big storm is to the west, which is what changed our plans.

IMG_20201023_074723.jpg
IMG_20201023_074729.jpg

The boys have been sleeping in the midst of a mass of blankets and cousins each night and in the mornings are in some funny positions. We have been letting them sleep as long as possible since they have been up till super late, even with the 2 hour difference it is super late.

IMG_20201023_081512.jpg

R managed to get himself into child's pose for a while before finally waking up. There is a reason it is called child's pose.

IMG_20201023_102114.jpg

R and the cat have been having a time as he likes to chase the cat some and Paws is a fairly good sport about it. They sat like this for a couple of minutes with R hugging Paws and Paws with his paws on R. Pretty chill cat given the terror that R normally is.

IMG_20201023_140205.jpg
IMG_20201023_140209.jpg

So we got about 6 inches of snow at home yesterday and Montana is a shit show on the roads. I had been looking at the open port of the chute and with the snow I figured it best to close the hole so I don't fill it with snow on the trip. I found an aluminum baking pan in the shop the fit perfectly over the hole. I poked holes in both sides and ran lock wire through and then twisted it tight. This will keep the motor free of snow and keep the chute from filling up on the drive.

IMG_20201023_150102.jpg

The wiring on the trailer is just a bit too short to connect to the car so I had @stryeyz pick me up a 18 inch extension when she was in town. I used the vise in the shop to hold it and then wrapped the wires in electrical tape to help protect them on the trip home. I don't really have to have the lights working since the car is far wider than the trailer but with the shitty weather I think it is best to get them working.

IMG_20201023_172409.jpg
IMG_20201023_172639.jpg

Unfortunately we had lights go out in the chicks hut and lost 13 of them Thursday night. My mom has gotten more going and gotten heaters for waters and the other birds. It is going to be 9 F tonight and the birds will hopefully be warm enough.

The roads in Montana are trashed right now and the I90 is 1 lane each direction for over 400 miles. I am planning on taking Hwy 2 all the way home across the northern most part of Montana. It is far clearer for the bulk of Montana until nearer to Glacier National Park. The Hwy 2 runs through Minot and is the highway next to our property. We will stay on the same highway for the entire 940 miles. As I watch the cams across the state it is clear that the northern route will be easier and likely safer.


Play Rabona the new soccer manager game on Hive!
https://rabona.io?ref=flemingfarm
Signup With my Link and we BOTH get 25K RBN

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

I am way behind on reading posts, so I guess I'll hop to your blog and find out what you are towing... Love the photos of R sleeping and playing with the cat. :))