Rain, Squash Thinning, Bumblebee, Nectarines - Thursday

in GEMS4 years ago

YAY we got rain, 0.23 inches of the clear gold fell over night. The farm looks so much better after a good rain washes all the dirt and dust off everything. Nicely the rains fell over night so I had the day with largely sunny skies and nice moderate temps.

IMG_20200924_064712.jpg

Big slug making its way through the yard slowly inching along towards cover of the deck.

IMG_20200924_092645.jpg

The squash pushed out a few more than the prior day which is giving me a slight surplus. 25 pounds are getting delivered this morning which leaves me some left over in the cooler.

IMG_20200924_102340.jpg

The wooly bear was paused in the sun on the path to the tool shed. I stopped to get a couple of shots, went in the house for a minute, and when I came back out I couldn't find it until I walked along the path and found it had crawled 15 feet already. Pretty damn fast caterpillar.

IMG_20200924_110610.jpg

The summer squash got thinned. The plants had gotten so long and unproductive that they really had to be pulled. I got 2 wheelbarrow loads, tall loads, hauled to the animal pen.

IMG_20200924_112515.jpg
IMG_20200924_114246.jpg

I hucked them all into the pen and the sheep and alpaca spent the rest of the day picking and browsing through them all.

IMG_20200924_114804.jpg

You can't really tell I did anything at all. The bulk of the removed squash plants were along the tomatoes and by removing them I opened up my access tot he tomatoes a lot better.

IMG_20200924_115523.jpg

One of the sunflowers has dried enough that I could pick it. I planted all skyscaper sunflower seeds but when I grew them and saved the seed I had a few type growing. I presume this is the Mongolian Giant that crossed since the seeds are blackish. The skyscraper has grey and white striped seeds. I have plenty more sunflowers that are still going strong.

IMG_20200924_120538.jpg

On one of those sunflowers I saw this monster bumblebee chilling. It let me pull the sunflower down so i could get a better view then let me take a bunch of pictures before finally flying off.

IMG_20200924_120746.jpg
IMG_20200924_120854.jpg
IMG_20200924_120919.jpg

With the last materials delivery I ended up getting a pair of gable corner covers for free. The garden shed has a seam in the peak where the shingles had deteriorated and I realized the corners would work perfect to cover the peak.

IMG_20200924_135711.jpg

Our 2 nectarine trees in the yard have finally produced something for us. I picked all of the small fruit to take in the house to allow to ripen. They are still a bit hard but in a few days they should all be ready to eat.

IMG_20200924_140510.jpg

Last audiobook finished:
Write , Publish, Repeat - by by Sean Platt & Johnny B. Truant
(A bit eye opening as to the extent of the writing business and how much could be thought about as a career is formed. Most important again is "JUST KEEP WRITING".)

Which I have been. I have another 1500 words down on my story. I have a bluetooth keyboard that I have designated as my creative writing keyboard. I use my laptop keyboard for this and other work and the bt board for the story. I am already finding that it works to make me write the story when on that keyboard.

I've been to town already for grain and to drop off the co-op order. It is starting to rain now so I'm not sure yet what I want to do tasks wise.

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!


FFF Runic.png




h

Sort:  

What good pictures of the bumble bee, they are quite friendly little creatures, very docile in fact and will let you hold them if they are in the mood. Love those sunflowers also, looks like you will get plenty of seed from them if the birds don't get them first.

We have hordes of bumblebees around the farm, at least 5 different types I have seen. This is by far the largest that I can remember ever seeing though. The on in my avatar was hanging on the deck this summer and was the same type, just way smaller.

The birds have been pretty good so far about not attacking the sunflowers. I see them all in the garden eating the bugs and not on the sunflowers. There is plenty for them still around though which helps.

The roof on that shed is kinda rough looking... :-)

I really do like it. The moss is super thick, it has been there so long. The shed sits about 100ft from the creek so there is always moisture nearby and I have no clue when it was built. The house was built in 1926 so the shed was likely in the 50s judging by the construction as a best guess.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congrats on the rain! Has it been overdue? I hope you're not suffering droughts, though your farm looks pretty lush and green. Great pics, once again!

It really just feels like it is over due but has not been horrible. It's just when things get so dry it becomes a stark difference. We are lucky that our creek is year round so it really helps to keep the area near the house much greener than the surrounding land. Got another 1/3" of rain today with a nice little thunder storm that just passed.

Cool about some much of a nice soft rain. Love the shots of the bee!