Probiotics on the side: easy fermented radishes

in GEMS4 years ago

Finding ways to process and best use the food that we grow in the garden is a lifelong journey if you allow it to be. From canning to dehydrating, freezing to picking, being able to store the gifts from the earth for eating later is such a gem!! I am grateful every day to be able to live in a space on the earth that nourishes me tenfold for how I nourish her. RIght now my radishes are continuing to reach harvest stage, and we love a little creativity in our food lives.

I am personally a fan of most anything pickled - okra, cucumbers, plums, just to name a few. Several years ago I started learning a little bit about lacto-fermentation and the health benefits that the digestive system can enjoy if you add fermented foods to your diet. Once you learn how amazing probiotics are for your gut health, it's always a win to find a source the whole family can enjoy. We still eat plenty of pickled foods, but I love to sneak the fermented goodness in for a healthy treat!

Can you tell I am a mom? We are notorious for finding ways to get you to eat your medicines...

I am still very much in the beginning phases of lacto-fermentation, which is why this quick radish "pickle" is so great! It is very simple to create. It's a blend of sliced radishes, mustard greens, and onions that only takes a few days to make. It uses up some of the radish surplus in a way that offers a condiment for the fridge that can add probiotic punches to your meals.

I am not always "exact" with my measurements and my work in the kitchen. As those of you who spend a lot of time on culinary creations can attest, over time you just work on a feeling, adding or altering a little bit here and there as the ancestors whisper in your ear! That's another thing I like about this recipe ~ you decide it's done based on texture and taste, not an exact amount of time.

For this recipe I used the following:

- radishes, sliced
  • mustard greens, torn into pieces (you could use the radish tops for this)
  • half of a large white onion, julienned
  • salt (I used coarse ground kosher)
  • water

You could add dill, or caraway, or other spices to it if you like. I don't have any fresh dill large enough to harvest yet, and there's caraway in the kraut that has been brewing along side the radishes. I left this batch simple.

lactorad1.jpg

Take 4 cups of water and heat it on the stove. Add 2-3 Tbsp of salt and stir until dissolved. This will be your brine. I usually do this prior to getting the veggies ready, or at the same time. As you can see I used a half gallon mason jar for this batch. If you are doing a smaller jar, you can always toss the extra brine.

lactorad3.jpg

The green radish tops got saved and used in the cream soup I made. It is always a hit at our place. You can read about it here:

https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@freemotherearth/radish-top-soup

Now that you have all your ingredients prepared, you have made it to filling the jar. I like things to look pretty if I can in the kitchen, so I carefully layered the radishes, onions, and greens. I purposely ended with the mustard greens because it seemed they would help everything else stay submerged once I put the weight on it easier than pieces of onion or radish.

lactorad4.jpg

Isn't it pretty?

Now that all the veggies are in the jar, you can pour the brine right over it. The main thing to remember is that you want everything to be submerged. If anything gets left in the air, that's where your mold or bacteria might be able to enter.

There are some really cool fermenting lids out there and one day I would really like to have some. At that point I will probably get lost in a black hole of fermentation projects, like I do a lot of the 'hobbies' I take up. In the mean time, I use a bit more brine than might be needed and just pour the excess off at the end. I fill a jar with water and use it as a glass weight, and then I keep a small towel secured over it while it brews to keep any particulates or curious insects from ending up in the water. Of course, the jar I used for a weight is almost the exact size of the opening.
You can easily use cheese cloth (like you see on my saurkraut) or a coffee filter secured with a rubber band for a cover.
The process goes faster when it's warmer. Some people put them on the kitchen counter, some put them in a cabinet. Personally, mine just sat with the other food jars (sprouts, kraut) on my chest freezer.

Now is the time to wait, and watch. You can check the taste as early as 3 or 4 days, but I personally let it go about a week. This particular batch I put in the fridge yesterday, which makes it an 8 day project.
lactorad5.jpg

The picture above is last Thursday. On the left hiding under the unicorns are my sprouts, and on the right is my little kraut batch.
The picture below was taken on Sunday, which would be day 3 for each of the jars. My sprouts were nearly ready to harvest, but my radish ferment was nowhere near ready. The kraut was not yet done either.

lactorad6.jpg

Yesterday the weather here was gorgeous, and I was excited to see how my radish concoction was coming along. I had contemplated on day 6 tasting it and seeing how I felt, but those ancestors whispered again and told me to wait just a bit longer.
I am glad I listened.
I really wanted to capture the beauty of this project, so I brought it out to a sunny spot in the front yard for an impromptu photo shoot.
Isn't that color gorgeous?

lactorad7.jpg
No matter how great your presentation is, culinary delight is found in the tantalizing palette of taste.

lactorad8.jpg

The family has all agreed that this batch of fermented radishes turned out fabulous. I think they are a little saltier than last time I made them, but then ume plums are way saltier (and I LOVE those!). If yours seem more salty than you like, just give them a quick gentle rinse between the jar and the plate. These do need to be kept in the fridge and will only keep a month or so, although I am investigating on if I can pressure seal these or not to have them year-round, because it seems plausible and it would be nice to have fermented radishes outside of the season.

Thanks for reading! Happy adventures in your own culinary wonderland!

beawesome.jpg

lactorad2.jpg

I just love the colors of radishes. They are so bright! I couldn't resist one more photo of them! (What can I say, I am in love with all things kitchen, really)

Sort:  

Congratulations @freemotherearth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

I've never had pickled radish other than in kimchi. Guess I'm gonna have to GROW some little red radishes and try this! 😊

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @artemislives) - join our community here.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Cool! That was nice! How is the weather planting radish? At which weather it grow or can live?

Radishes can stand the cooler weather, so I planted them directly in the garden here in early March. I live on the border of the US climate zone 6/7, so we didnt get our last freeze until mid-may.
I am going to see if I can keep them going throughout the summer. They are easy to grow, and succession planting (new seeds planted every couple of weeks) keeps them able to harvest continually.
I have not been super diligent on every couple of weeks, but I have done 3 different plantings since mid-March.

Wow! Thank you for the wonderful information that you gave to me! I love it!!!