Chinese food experience at ChowKing

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

Right now, food is where I spend most of my money. I just really like eating and I want a variety of it. Today, I went for a fast-food style of Chinese food. It's a commercialized version of the cuisine but I still find it tasty (not a popular opinion ;)

20201123_11082801.jpeg

Anyway, the dish that I always come back to is the Chicken Lauriat. Just a fun fact, "lauriat" means "special occasion". So a direct translation for this dish is "Chicken for Special occasion". That's an interesting way to name a dish.

What I like about this is how they combine all of the Chinese food goodness into a single plate. Also, the fried chicken is cooked nicely and the batter is crunchy. It's very different from KFC which has a saggy breading. I just prefer a good texture on a fried chicken.

Another thing that I wanted to commend for this is that it's a complete dish. It has fried chicken, dumplings, stir-fried noodles, fried rice, and Jian Dui.

If you're curious, Jian Dui is a Chinese pastry made from glutinous rice flour. The inside is filled with lotus paste or black bean paste. The outside is covered with sesame seeds. The whole thing is fried and so you would expect a blend of crispy sesame, chewy dough, and creamy filling. It looks simple but the experience of eating it is complex.

20201123_11083201.jpeg

Another dish that I always go for is the Beef Noodles. It has a clear light and yet flavorful soup. I just wished that the meat should have been more tender because it's a bit chewy. Regardless, I still feel that it's a good addition to a lauriat meal.

Overall, I had a good experience with the food. And it's also affordable so it doesn't really hurt my pocket to eat something satisfactory.

Restaurant name: ChowKing