Late night thoughts about rejection/disagreement and how to handle them

in GEMS4 years ago

When I was younger, my father often tells me these words, "know when to fight and when to surrender". It has been my mantra when dealing with a person that annoys me or someone who is trying to push my limit.

DSC07926.jpg

In some instances, whenever I'm in a situation wherein my ideas are being rejected or disapproved, I assess whether I will push through with it or just back-out of it. I'm the type of person that will try to be cool when an argument arises.

Regardless of how I present myself in this situation, most of the time I ask myself on what do I really feel about it.

There's no better way to handle rejection or disapproval. I believe it's part of the learning process that we have to go through to be a much better version of ourselves. Regardless, it still makes me feel bad about myself and it makes me question my abilities.

But how do we really deal with it?

We are humans. It's for a fact that we are not perfect and that we can not be correct at all times. Being rejected happens to every living person in the world. Even the greatest people also experienced being rejected. If you watched one of Jack Ma's interviews he often talks about the rejections that he faced before he became successful.

Not a good way to deal with rejection

Have you heard of stress-eating? I have gone through it which resulted in an enormous weight gain. I always knew that it isn't a healthy way of dealing with rejection. Once I gobble the food the anxiety slightly fades but it can quickly return since I didn't really relieve myself with my bad feelings.

Acceptance

It's probably the most difficult thing to do after being rejected. We are usually in a denial state and there's nothing we can do about it. Actually, there is. For as long as we keep denying and arguing about it the anxiety will never fade. But if we try to accept and find lesser reasons to be bothered by the rejection the less it becomes an issue to your life.

Express yourself

At this point, it is best to have someone listen to your issues about rejection. A real friend is probably the best person to talk to but if there's none then a therapist would be a good option as well. Actually, talking to someone can relieve stress since we let go of the negative thoughts when we do. It will allow us to think much clearer and will also allow us to move on with our life much quicker.

These are just a few points that I apply in my life to keep a healthy mind and body as well.

Keep it cool and move on.


Blurtlife-on!