[ENG][ESP] The origin of my last names // El origen de mis apellidos

in GEMS4 years ago

The origin of my last names // El origen de mis apellidos


     Hello to all the community of Gems, today I bring you a post a little more personal than I am used to, I will tell you a little about my parents and some curious stories about my last names.
     Hola a toda la comunidad de Gems, hoy les traigo un post un poco más personal de lo que tengo acostumbrado, les contaré un poco sobre mis padres y algunas historias curiosas sobre mis apellidos.

IMG_20200523_102542968.jpg


     In case you didn't see my presentation, my full name is Gianpiero Zecchetti Chienuy, I don't have a middle name, since in Italy this is not a common practice. As you may have noticed, they are not very common surnames, and that is why, Zecchetti is Italian, and, Chienuy is Polish, which, by the way, has a very curious story, which I will tell you later.
     Por si no vieron mi presentación, mi nombre completo es Gianpiero Zecchetti Chienuy, no tengo segundo nombre, ya que en Italia esto no es una práctica común. Como habrán notado, no son apellidos muy cotidianos, y es porqué, Zecchetti es italiano, y, Chienuy es polaco, que, por cierto, tiene una historia muy curiosa, que les contaré más adelante.


     Let's start with my father, his name is Pierercole Zecchetti, he is 68 years old, he was born in a village in Italy, called Traversetolo, in the province of Parma, but, as a newborn he migrated with my grandparents to Venezuela, thus fleeing from a Europe with many sequels of wars to an America full of opportunities. Although first, my uncle was the one who dared to know Venezuela, and it was not long after that, on his recommendation, my grandparents followed the same path. In his adulthood, he became a Venezuelan national, thus losing his Italian nationality, due to the laws of that time, so legally, neither he, nor my brother, nor I, are Italian.
     Comencemos con mi papá, él se llama Pierercole Zecchetti, tiene 68 años, el nació en un pueblo de Italia, llamado Traversetolo, en la provincia de Parma, pero, de recién nacido migró con mis abuelos a Venezuela, huyendo así, de una Europa con muchas secuelas de guerras a una América llena de oportunidades. Aunque primero, mi tío fue el que se atrevió a conocer Venezuela, y no pasó mucho tiempo cuando, por su recomendación, mis abuelos siguieron el mismo camino. Ya en su adultez, se nacionalizó venezolano, perdiendo así la nacionalidad italiana, debido a las leyes de aquel entonces, así que legalmente, ni el, ni mi hermano, ni yo, somos italianos.

IMG_20200523_102449375.jpg


     Let's continue with my mother, her name is Elizabet Chienuy, she is 63 years old, her parents fled Poland for the same reason, the war, it is that time the consequences of Nazism were just passing by, which not only affected Germany, but also its neighboring countries, among them, Poland. This added to the fact that my grandparents were deprived of almost all their family, as my grandmother was taken out of her home when she was only 13 years old, to work in a German house, for all these reasons, they decided to start a new life. My mother was born in Venezuela, along with 3 of her 5 brothers and sisters, and the other 2 were born in Poland and came here as children. Something very curious about the surname is that most of her brothers and sisters have different surnames, due to errors in the writing. The original surname is Cieniuch, and this one is owned by his older brothers, but the rest have the surname Chenuy, Cheñuy or Chienuy, as in the case of my mother.
     Sigamos con mi mamá, ella se llama Elizabet Chienuy, tiene 63 años, sus padres huyeron de Polonia por la misma razón, la guerra, es esa época estaba apenas pasando las consecuencias del nazismo, el cual no solo afectó a Alemania, sino también a sus países vecinos, entre ellos, Polonia. Esto sumado a que mis abuelos fueron despojados de casi toda su familia, ya que mi abuela fue sacada de su casa con solo 13 años, a trabajar en una casa alemana, por todas estas razones, decidieron comenzar una nueva vida. Mi mamá si nació en Venezuela, junto con 3 de sus 5 hermanos, y los otros 2, nacieron en Polonia y llegaron aquí, de muy pequeños. Algo muy curioso respecto al apellido, es la mayoría de sus hermanos poseen distinto apellido, debido a errores al momento de la escritura. El apellido original es Cieniuch, y este lo poseen sus hermanos mayores, pero lo demás tienen el apellido Chenuy, Cheñuy o Chienuy, como en caso de mi mamá.

IMG_20200523_101057295.jpg


     Legally, I am Venezuelan, but as you may have read, there is nothing Venezuelan in my blood, but, like all my family, we have a great love for this country, which gave our grandparents the opportunity for a new beginning. I grew up here, I studied here, this country has seen me grow up, and even though I am not going through the best of times, I never lose faith that Venezuela will be that prosperous country of yesteryear again.
     Legalmente, soy venezolano, pero como habrán leído, no tengo nada de venezolano en la sangre, pero, así como toda mi familia, le tenemos un amor enorme a este país, que les dio la oportunidad a nuestros abuelos de un nuevo comienzo. Aquí crecí, aquí estudié, este país me ha visto crecer, y aunque no esté pasando por el mejor momento, nunca pierdo la fe en que Venezuela vuelva a ser ese país próspero de antaño.


Thank you all very much for reading, this was my post today, I hope you liked this story, greetings to all.

Muchas gracias a todos por leer, este fue mi post de hoy, espero les haya gustado esta historia, saludos a todos.