Got a faux SG? Got to play faux Zeppelin!

in GEMS4 years ago

wtcf.jpg

I'm not a collector of guitars. I have three, and anymore than three is considered a collection. Until just recently I'd never even heard of them, but now that I've played on I've realized that if I were to move into that territory I'd seriously consider a Yamaha SG.

My daughter finished VCE (year 12) last year and decided to take the year off and travel the world, and we all know how that's turned out!!! She's working at a Thai restaurant at the moment and decided to do some training in hospitality to fill in the year before heading to UNI.

One night at the restaurant it was quiet so she showed her boss some of my YouTube clips and they got talking about guitars. Apparently he is a collector (more than three) and has two young grandchildren that continually want to get their dirty sticky little fingers all over them.

So for the next month or so they have a new home at my place!!


I've never been a huge Zeppelin fan. I think Jimmy Page's riffs are legendary but have never been able to stomach too much of Robert Plant's voice. Jimmy's guitar of choice (I believe) is a Gibson SG (although I've heard that a lot of the recording was actually done on a Fender Telecaster), so if I had a Gibson I'd have played Zeppelin, but because I've got a Gibson inspired guitar I'll play a song for a Zeppelin inspired band.

Aaaaaas usual stay safe and hopefully you enjoy this!

Sort:  

I don't know the song, but it is very LZ like. I am a fan of Zep, but some of the songs do not date well. Page came up with so many great riffs in a variety of styles. He did use an SG double neck, but mostly played a Tele early on and then Les Pauls. Also used a Danelectro on some songs. It's a shame he has not played much in recent years.

The Yamaha SG is a nice looking guitar. I know Santana used to play one. Is it heavy?

I have five guitars, one bass and three ukes, but don't consider myself a collector as they all get used. The guitars are all very different.

So what you're saying is I can buy more guitars? I'm sure that's what you said.

The SG might be a bit out of my price range, and to be honest I find that I sound pretty similar regardless if which guitar I play... The just sound like me...

As far as the weight goes it's a tad heavier than my strat. I've never played a Gibson SG, but I have once picked up a les Paul, then quickly put it down as it weighed a ton.

I'm not saying you shouldn't buy more guitars :)

Gibson SGs are pretty thin, so shouldn't be too heavy. I think a lot of modern Gibsons have hollows in the body to reduce the weight, but I'm sure some will say that changes the sound. I'm not standing to play much these days, so it's not really an issue.

Congratulations @gtown! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day

Marvellous! Not a song I know but sound great.

I'm definitely in the collector category but would never class myself as a player :D

Cheers Stav. Greta van Fleet coped a lot of flack for ripping off LZ. I only really heard of them because this came up in my youtube feed.


I couldn't count the number of times I watched this.