Good Doctors Rewrite Experiences

in GEMS2 years ago

I found a good doctor, a good gem! 💎

There is this doctor in my neighbourhood whom I go to when I had some blockages during breastfeeding time and also gastric. She is friendly, nice, shows interest and best of all attentive.


My eldest son needed to go for his covid vaccine and he is among one of the last in his class to get it done. When I browsed our local health system app, I was so so glad to see this clinic offers vaccination for children and it offers both choices - Pfizer and Sinovac.

Well my son has one of the greatest fears towards needles and injection so it was very very difficult to even convince him to get it done. Perhaps it was due to previous experiences at some pediatric clinics and some GP clinics. We had to hold him down and he was crying so loud every single time even before the injection started.

So we spent one month to persuade him. I showed him videos of his friends taking it but he started crying everytime this topic is brought up. I just told him he can still take his time and we can talk about his fears. I also encouraged him that we can do difficult things and face the things we fear, still acknowledging we are scared. Then we depend on God's grace to do the things we cannot do but let Him enable us.

img_0.19630643322619568.jpg

Everything changed since his first encounter with my this doctor at Klinik Jaya!

He still went in jittery and nervous. He tried to tell the doctor to get it done within 1 minute. The doctor listened to him as he painted out his fear and assured him she will get it done before 1 minute is over. She asked him to try to see if she can do it. So he was distracted by that and then he realized oh, that was not painful at all! Wow! He left the place happy and looking forward to his second dose. What a drastic change!

I gave him a reward, a Pikachu soft toy to reward him for stepping out of his comfort zone to do an unusual thing that he was scared of.

img_0.6981616875194963.jpg

"I am no more afraid because the doctor is nice!"

This was what he told me today when we were on our way to the doctor. He was anticipating it and because of the previous pleasant experience with the good doctor, it has overwritten all his other traumatic experience.

img_0.561442098722951.jpg

img_0.6831929928895846.jpg

When we saw her today, she was her usual chatty friendly self. She started to talk to my son about his soft toy as he brought Pikachu there. She took interest and she asked him if he had any discomfort the last round. She praised him for being brave. And then she did it again so swiftly. The first round she did it, it was so fast that I was not even in time to take any photos or videos to document it. This time round, I readied my phone.

img_0.8196336963008763.jpg

img_0.10266608015673238.jpg

Can see he was trying to hold his heart.

img_0.07524435012074422.jpg

Happily unwrapping his 2nd stage reward. He said he wanted to see what this 'egg' will hatch into.

img_0.4818788330765518.jpg

Yay he now has a Pikachu and an Eevee!

img_0.9370178057100578.jpg

img_0.3434351442723319.jpg

All it takes is just one good experience and it births forth the start of a new experience!

So thankful for this doctor and we did tell her about the very good deed she did for him which was a huge deal. Before I left, I asked the son if he wants to take his influenza vaccine which is long overdued there at the same clinic, he without any hesitation said, "Yes because the doctor is so gentle." The doctor went "Awwww..." and I guess hearing it from him also melted her heart. She said she remembers how jittery he was at the first experience.

Good empathetic doctors are gems!

img_0.14866769271516603.jpg

Sort:  

Awwww... seeing you holding your heart, makes me also want to tap tap and hold your heart with you.

Yesss you did it Levi boy!! So brave and proud of you! ❤️