Grocery shopping in the Time of Corona

in GEMS4 years ago

02.jpg

Today I went to buy a few household products. I was surprised to see the number of people outside of the home. I have been watching the news almost every day and gathering information about the updates of the corona situation. Today 1202 person has been identified as corona victim and 15 people died. Every day the number of affected people has been increasing rapidly. People should have worried and try to stay at home, right? WRONG!!!

There are thousands of people has been roaming around the city. A large number of people don't have any work. They come out of the house to see the situation. Many of them are not wearing a mask. They seem very careless. Yes, there is also the number of people who don't have money & works. That's why they outside to find jobs or money but I was surprised by those who didn't have anything to do outside but still roaming around. If you ask them then they will give you different types of excuses and some will tell lies. I found also a few interesting facts. That is, everybody knows the outbreak, they know how lethal it could be for them or to their family but still acts carelessly. I am looking for the RIGHT word to express my feeling about this kind of situation...

01.jpg

When I went to buy vegetables I saw people don't care about the distance. They are just doing their shopping. I asked a woman about the distancing. Her reply was like " I am maintaining, can't you see that" But she was just a couple inches away from me. But the shopkeeper is quite good at keeping the distance also wearing gloves and masks. The price of the vegetables also not high. Normally, during the month of Ramadan vegetable prices go sky-high.

03.jpg

After that, I went to buy some fruit. This is the prime time for the price of every kind of fruit to go high. Price was high but like the previous year, maybe due to the outbreak. People are buying fewer fruits. I also found the same carelessness about social distancing & waring masks or gloves.

04.jpg

What I feel today is that people are not afraid of the outbreak, they are fade up staying home. They don't care at all. all they care about going outside, under the sun. I guess it's human nature.

So, what you guys think? Please share your views.

Thanks for reading. See you soon !!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @iamjohn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I am appalled that people are willing to risk their health in such a foolhardy way, but, not only are they risking theirs, but, they are risking the lives of the people they live with and the shopkeepers and people they come in contact with. Every time they come in contact with one person with the virus, the will infect many.

I wear a mask. I sanitize. I limit my going out unless I have to. I practice safe social distancing. I take a shower and wash n=my clothes immediately when I get home. We do what we can.

Stay safe.

As an aside, your market looks so wonderful and inviting. Thank you for being part of #MarketFriday.

Thank you for joining!!!

You know how much fun it is to have you here at the challenge! It is always a pleasure to see you join #MarketFriday. Every week, it seems to grow in size, giving us new places to explore. Because of you and people like yourself, #MarketFriday has become successful. I am sure there are many times that much effort goes into putting these posts together. So much effort, so little time. There is a certain sense of warmth in my heart, and it is that of being thankful. I can’t thank you enough for being part of the challenge.

Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:
Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant, or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo, an art auction, and restaurants. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service.
Take pictures! Be creative! It’s fun!
Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
Post the picture(s)
Don’t forget to use the MarketFriday Community to post from or hashtag it! #MarketFriday by @dswigle If you hashtag it, drop the link to your post here so I can easily find them

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and reposted

!tip .20

🎁 Hi @iamjohn! You have received 0.2 HBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.