Story of the Day - Mixed Cold Salad

in GEMS4 years ago

Carrots, Boiled Egg, Avocado, Homemade Garlic Mayonnaise and Cold Rice

My wife left the house early this morning to go to an appointment.
I knew she wouldn't be back home before early afternoon so when lunch time came, I prepared something for myself and my very picky daughter.

Cold Salad While Browsing the Hive

I wasn't in the mood to cook anything and I was, instead, looking for something cold. Everything I needed for my kind of comfort food was in the fridge. We had carrots, boiled eggs, avocado, a left over of cooked rice and some homemade garlic mayonnaise. Perfect, I love salads. My daughter was not impressed with my lunch plans, but tough luck for her, I'm the one who decides.

Cold Salad

I grated the carrots, peeled the avocado and the egg, and started putting it all together on the plate along with the cold rice. For this kind of dish, I would usually make a vinaigrette with Dijon mustard, salt, pepper, wine vinegar and of course oil, but since we had some homemade garlic mayonnaise left, why not?!

Mixed Cold Salad

I mixed it all together and I had my lunch in front of the computer browsing the Hive.

I'm assuming this is not the definition of comfort food for most people, but that does it for me. One can also add tomatoes, cold boiled potatoes, tuna chunks, etc.... It's all down to your imagination and what you have at hands.

Bon Appétit!