Vacation Was Good

in GEMS3 years ago

First Day Out

Over the last week, I had some friends that I met online come up to Michigan and it's safe to say that they are as amazing as I thought from our online experiences. They are from Indiana so it was quite a trip for them, it won't happen often but I am happy I got to experience that at least once, maybe I'll drive down there next summer.

As the trip is a good 5-6 hours, we took it easy on the first night just grabbing some groceries and setting up our camping spot. I'd call myself a "city boy" so I didn't help with the tent, but it feels good to know even the more "southern" still have troubles with tents. I found it quite comical, I'm sure everyone around also thought so. It's been a good year or more for me, so sitting by the fire was a much needed stress reliever.

image0 (4).jpg


Day Two

Today we had a decent amount of plans, so we got to eating fast and checking out the rest of the campground. Even though the place was extremely close to my house, the actual grounds were not bad at all, just had to forget I'm practically 5 minutes away from home. While walking down the trails, all five of us went around taking turns taking pictures which was fun. I'm always the person that makes a joke out of pictures, I don't like them so my impulse is to mess around and do stupid poses.

Continuing on, after the trail we found ourselves swimming. Another thing I hadn't done in quite a long time. The first bit felt really good until we started to notice the extreme amount of plants we all were standing on. Not a huge deal, but after time it got to be too much. When I say there were plants, I mean growing out of the 6ft (1.8m) deep water and being able to pull out a full ghillie suit under one swipe of a leg.

image.png

Source

After cleaning up, we went to a movie (Of course?! Who doesn't like movies?) and I'm not gonna lie or go around it. I was not impressed by the new Space Jam, albeit I have not watched the first, but it was just "meh" to me. Not great, but not terrible.


Day Three

Day three is action packed, we started early hitting up Starbucks, going bowling and much more. As a non-coffee drinker, the fruit lemonades Starbucks offer are not bad! However, not gonna say the price is worth it. Next, we traveled to three different bowling alleys, who woulda thought so many bowling alleys are closed on a Wednesday afternoon? (everyone Kryptics.. everyone). Luckily, we found one, we bought a 90-minute timer and got through two and a half games before running out. Safe to say I was consistent, I got third place every time.

image.png

Source

Bowling was soo much fun, definitely going to be my #1 date idea when the time comes. Just so much fun and in a way it lets out some of the stresses of life.

Part 2

After bowling, we went to a restaurant called Gatsby's which was a cool experience but I definitely ordered something I don't like. Had to mix it up, can't go with the same order every day of your life, just didn't work this time.

image.png

After some failure of malls closing at 8, we went to the Tridge and got some amazing photos. I'd like to say I'm good with photos, but I'm definitely not great in reality. However, I gotta' give myself some credit, with just a phone and quick filters I think I did decent.

I know the pictures do not show it, but the Tridge is a tourist location in Michigan and is a series of trails with a triple-bridge connecting the different trails. It is actually a really cool place, seeing a bridge connect to three different places is quite a view.

Part 3

We wasted time at the Tridge because we had another movie tonight (Amazing! IKR?). Another "meh" movie compared to the original but we chose to watch A Quiet Part 2. I felt it was lacking a good "objective" but I do suggest watching it if you watched the first one.


The Indiana boys had another night to stay however some personal stuff came up and threw everything planned into a tornado. Thank god they understood, but I had to spend the most of Thursday in a hospital. I was lucky to be given the opportunity to say goodbye and hug them but hopefully next time things go a bit better and nothing like this happens again 🤞

image.png

Source

Forgetting Thursday, vacation was really good! I don't like having plans everyday so I don't know if I'll be doing something as organized as that but the whole week really let me forget everything from work, school, and ordinary days.


Thanks for reading!
Until next time...

UpdatedPeakDBanner-01.png

Sort:  

That’s awesome bro! I just got back from vacation too, it was very much needed. I’m a city boy also, although I grew up in WV which is known for outdoors stuff. I like to go hiking, but not camping haha.

Lucky you to meet up with some new friends from online. I think it’s great to have allies like that.

Haha I guess we're in the same position location wise. my Highschool had opening day off for hunting lol.

I've never had the chance to hike just yet but I think I'd like it, and camping has to have the ideal characteristics for me to truly enjoy.

Thank you! I hope to gain some more from this platform. Online friends nowadays are better than the IRL ones when it comes to flaking.

Sounds similar to where I’m from, everybody hunts and fishes but me.

Hiking is pretty chill. Especially if it’s only a few hours.

I feel you on that for real.

Sounds like you had a really great time! I did some relaxing around the campfire myself this past weekend. I am looking forward to taking my last big trip of the summer next week. I used to be on a bowling league, but I was never that great at it. I still have my own ball and shoes though! I couldn't tell you the last time I saw a movie in a theater. It might have been the last Star Wars one. When I was a freshman in high school I knew a guy who was a senior that jumped off the Tridge. He said it was terrifying because the river is much deeper than you realize and he just kept going down farther and farther. There is a disc golf course off one leg of the Tridge that I frequent fairly often.

Yeah I actually came in to your office right before leaving and you were gone.. I was gonna say have a good vacation but then I just felt like I was hassling you if I text that. (I know that's not the case)

Hey that's cool! I have 2-3 friends that are on a league and pretty darn good at it too! I wanna say 197-200+ range? I'm not positive.

Oh man you have to soon! Nothing beats the theater, even under the right circumstance with a home theater.

Ooooh that makes me really want to jump off the bridge at some point lol. I would've thought it is only about 4-5 feet deep and I'd be worried about landing wrong and breaking something.

Yeah, I don't think I ever broke 200 in my bowling game. It was something I was always chasing, but never quite made it. I think the place we are staying next week has a built in home theater. Maybe I will watch something good!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @iikrypticsii! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation