You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My real life story about homelessness and how I coped with adversity in my life

in GEMS3 years ago (edited)

Mary, yeah yeah and I also dig into my life because I am interested in studying psychology, anthropology, sociology. I try to help people. So, I try to understand the good and the bad of how people develop in life. So, I'm not going to say I don't try to study how humans evolve throughout their lives, because I do do that too. That is science. That is good for doctors, scientists, pastors, counselors, other people.


But at the same time, I am also looking at my life as a reference point, a starting point, a foundation, be it too subjective in nature or not, be it too bias as it is me looking at myself. So, it could become counterproductive, too bias, too subjective, too corrupt, etc, to study oneself. So, I always keep all of those things in mind.


We can learn from each other. So, I feel like people can learn from my life. It can also be fun to look back at my life. It can also be like a mystery. Like, I am exploring a deep hidden cave. Maybe there are things I've forgotten about which perhaps should be uncovered. But I'm not saying go into the caves and maze of one's own mind and get lost there for too long. Come back out every once in a while to get some beautiful sunshine hehehe.


Mary, like you said, I agree, we can let light shine into the darkness, into the caves of our lives. Yeah, timing is a thing I would try to rush at times. So, I learn patience, timing, endurance, perspective. Yeah, be kind, gentle, and aware. Be relevant. Be ready. To love oneself is a beautiful thing.


Knowing and then loving yourself for who you are means not getting lost in who you are not. It can become problematic when people don't know who they are, what they are, where they are, for better or for worse. It is so critical for people to start with where they are which is rooted in where they were, especially if they are interested in where they are going.


Inner management can be tricky and yet it can start with the seed of curiosity. So, we should start off small in the pursuit towards increased inner management. But it can feel like an overwhelming endeavor which leaves people idle. So, my advice is to simply take a peak at a one thing at a time every once in a while. Mentally, that can be the trick, to let curiosity get a foot in that door of inner management. One day at a time, one slice or piece of the pie at a time.

Sort:  

You've talked about self love and awareness so beautifully in this comment! I believe that indeed we can learn from all people we meet, good or bad. It took me a while to learn this lesson and I am constantly improving. May we all become better versions of ourselves today than what we were yesterday!

Loving oneself includes being brutally and severely honest as a starting point.

Oh Joey you've hit the nail on the head with this statement! Being honest, truly honest, might be painful for our ego as usually it means to assume responsibility for whatever crappy situation you are in. No matter the circumstance we always play the biggest role in what happened to us, next to our childhood mental programming and our biases. I work on being honest with myself as much as I can and I think that this is one of the key ingredients to a happier self. Honesty and assuming responsibility