My Top 3 MUST HAVE Lockdown Essentials: Top 3 Monthly Contest-APRIL, 2020

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

Copy of Copy of Copy of BooksAndAntiquesCollage.png

@yourtop3
Your Top 3 Monthly Contest April 2020 - What Are Your Top 3 Lockdown Essentials


@traciyork initiative @nablopomo (day 3)

This month's topic is:

TOP 3 Essential Items During Lockdown

With the worldwide spread of COVID-19, life as we knew it will change forever. This is the first time in our history that a health crisis has affected the entire world and taken on a global awareness.

Where will we be in the next few months; the end of this year 2020; or even next year and beyond? No one knows for sure. But what we do know is that societies, governments, countries, cities, individuals, and our complete way of life will have to make a change. Our lives depend on it.

Understanding what we currently know, if we don't change, we'll have learned nothing from this global health crisis. And the next health crisis to affect out planet may be even more devastating. I feel as though it's not a matter of IF; it's a matter of WHEN. This COVID-19 caught us off guard. I hope the next one doesn't.

But first we must survive this health crisis. And to do this, governments around the world and individual states have mandated from stay-at-home orders to outright mandatory lockdowns.

Did we see this shutdown of our economy and social engagement coming when we first heard about the virus? I know I didn't. I don't believe the world stood up, took notice, and considered this virus serious until a full blown worldwide health crisis was upon us.

Because of this, today we are facing:

Worldwide COVID-19 Cases1,002,159
U.S. COVID-19 Cases236,339
Worldwide COVID-19 Deaths51,485
U.S. COVID -19 Deaths5,648
Source: Johns Hopkins

In the U.S. we have varying degrees of shelter in place directives. Our State has numerous local stay-at-home orders. However, our State doesn't have a statewide Stay-At-Home Order. We're not in full lockdown yet. No matter which directive you're issued, individuals are advised to stay home and shelter in place.

If I were under a full lockdown, below are the three essential items I'd need to keep myself and my family safe and moving forward until the mandate is lifted. This is my entry for this month's topic.

My Nominations are:

Nomination Number One

Top Essential Need is FOOD/Water

My Reasons for the Nomination

It is known that humans can survive 3 weeks without food if absolutely necessary with no alternative means of survival in sight. Combined with the fact that humans can live without water only 3 days.

supermarket4052658_640.jpg
Image by Squirrel_Photos from Pixabay

During the lockdown or stay-at-home directives, we all have to take into consideration that it's not only ourselves we have to worry about, but also our children. They are now at home with us. The most important item I feel is needed is food and water. We need at least a month's supply of food and water. We have to treat current situation as though we're in the aftermath of a natural disaster, i.e. hurricane, tornado, flood, or earthquake. In order to survive any of these natural disasters while sheltering in place, we need food and water.

When children are involved, it's a totally different situation. We are accustomed to our children being at school all day. There, they are housed and fed. In a lockdown, they are at home. Eating and snacking are two pleasures in life they live for. In order to have ample supply of food, you have to have already stocked up on grocery items.

In the COVID-19 health crisis we're facing, I don't feel individuals were given enough accurate information up front and time to plan. No one in the U.S. could have predicted a stay-at-home or lockdown in their immediate future. Thus, many were unprepared.

Short supply of certain food items at grocery chains, coupled with inadequate funds to purchase food, have produced extremely long lines in food pantries around the country. Individuals are looking for food to feed their families. Our charity organizations can't keep up with the demand.

Currently, with the stay-at-home and lockdown orders in place, food will have to be stretched as long as possible to help families through this health crisis.

pierson82690_640.jpg
Image by David Mark from Pixabay

When it comes to water, of course, there exists tap water. However, the state of our sanitation water systems is such that Americans take advantage of bottled water. In my area, the water is considered "hard". The build up of mineral deposits causes hard particles in he water. I strictly utilize bottled water for my family.

Nomination Number Two

Second Essential Need is CLEANING SUPPLIES

My Reasons for the Nomination

During a stay-at-home or lockdown with this health crisis, health professionals have suggested cleaning all frequently used surfaces to minimum the spread of the virus. This is extremely important when numerous family members will be in close contact with each other during this period. Included in this group of cleaning supplies is bleach, disinfectant spray, cleaner, and wipes, antibacterial hand soap, and hand sanitizer.

kellysikkemaxpND7NjWaAunsplash.jpg
Image by Kelly Sikkemah from Unsplash

The reason I close cleaning supplies as a necessity rather than just disinfectant is due to the fact that health professional recommend cleaning surfaces thoroughly first. We are all used to cleaning our homes with commercial cleaners. You need to wash surfaces first before applying the disinfectant. I have made a routine practice of this process.

To date, I can't locate locally or online any disinfectant or hand sanitizer. However, I've been able to find a few cleaning supplies to assist my family.

Nomination Number Three

Third Essential Need is THERMOMETER

My Reasons for the Nomination

One of the symptoms of the COVID-19 virus is a fever. This virus has been known to produce a high fever in the majority of individuals. There are numerous individuals who don't exhibit this symptom. Therefore, to be safe, I feel it's imperative that you have available a thermometer. It can be the old-fashioned one or the new digital kind. As long as you have one in your home.

20200402_134432.jpg
Image by @justclickindiva of my digital thermometer

This item, I feel, is tool that is useful in any situation. Families should already own this important health item. Children's temperatures are frequently being monitored for other childhood illnesses. However, the health crisis we're currently facing makes it imperative that everyone's temperature in your household be taken twice daily.

Closely monitoring temperatures may alert you to any changes sooner rather than later. I can't stress enough the important of monitoring yourself and your family's temperatures.


My practice is to stock up. I've been practicing this for years, so I'm prepared for any long term situation. The reason I practice this stocking is to assist my family, extended family and friends who are in need.

The longer citizens are asked to shelter in place, the shorter the supply of essential needs will become. I hope relief comes soon to families affected by this health crisis in the form of assistance from the stimulus package approved by the federal government.

I pray for all families affected by this health crisis who either have contracted this virus; or, are out of work and resources due to the stay-at-home orders or lockdowns.

top3 divider 2 logo.jpg

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @yourtop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into peakd.

Delegate to @yourtop3:

5SP 10SP 25SP
50SP 100SP 150SP
200SP 250SP 300SP
400SP 500SP 1000SP

footer banner.jpg

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.


SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's logo created by and purchased from PHC.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) Separator Lines Free ClipArt Belt from Public Domain Vectors & ShadedLine from ClipArt-Library
e) All Tribe logos used with permission of Tribe Discord Channel admins.

lineseparator.png

justclickindiva-minnowimage.png

lineseparator.png

I SUPPORT THE FOLLOWING GROUPS:

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

What a great list of entries to the contest here and thank you for getting involved again! Can really see the experience of previous disasters and motherhood coming through in this one.

Our lock down is a bit less strict than other countries in the UK in that we're still allowed out to exercise but think it's starting to take its toll on people. So long as people don't panic, there will be enough food in the supermarkets for everyone and they have limited 3 of one item now so people can't stockpile.

Take care

Nicky

Thanks @nickyhavey. Yes, I've been doing this for many years helping my family. So it's no surprise or stress level on me to do it now. I'm from the old school. I didn't grow up with all the conveniences we have become accustomed to, i.e. paper towels, etc. I just stocked up on my favorite dish cloths. Just wash them more frequently.

You are right. No need to panic. But I can understand those who are without financial resources right now. I'm retired, so I get a monthly retirement income. It allows me to help my family and others through this now. For that, I'm thankful.

We're officially under a Statewide Stay at Home order. The streets are semi empty. I'm happy people are now taking this seriously.

Lol glad to see I’m not the only one who feels cleaning has become a must now I didn’t give it much thought before now I’m a regular scubaholic

Hi @chekohler. You have to be in the face of this crisis. But generally, I've always done this because of my kids, and now grandchildren. They don't even think about cleaning. They run from outside and straight to the fridge or anywhere else.

Thanks for visiting. Have a great weekend ahead.

Welcome back to the contest for another round! Thanks for sharing all the great stats and thoughts with your post, as well. Here in Georgia we officially start a shelter-in-place order at 6pm this evening. Up to this point all the different counties and cities have had different orders, so I hope that helps to get everyone on the same page. As of right now it is supposed to end on the 13th, but I imagine it's going to be extended. We'll see.

I'm like you in that I usually keep pretty well stocked on a lot of basics anyway. I cook all my beans and grains from scratch, so generally have a nice store on hand of all kinds of lentils, black beans, chickpeas, farro, quiona, rice and the like. I'm glad I had re-stocked on my faves before all this hit as everyone else has started buying the same items I usually never have a problem purchasing! Cleaning items are a good one, as well, since they are also in short supply. I actually found some hand sanitizer packs that I had in goody bags from some running races in a drawer that was like finding gold! A thermometer is a good item, as well. I actually wasn't sure if we had one since it's just my boyfriend and I with no kiddos in the household. He said he does have one, but we haven't checked to see if the batteries work yet. Probably should add that to my list for today...

Crazy times right now for sure. I feel very lucky so far that I am able to keep working remote by taking clients online for sessions and doing zoom fitness classes for our corporate clients. It will indeed get dire for many people all over the world. Wishing you and yours good health and peace! Thanks again for joining us!

Hi @plantstoplanks. Thanks so much for your insight into how you plan. Shortly, I'll post about my stockade, as my family calls it. They used to laugh at me until one of them was laid off from their job a several years ago. Finding a comparable one with the same pay was hard. They relied on me for the most basic items. No more laughing.

Since then I have a pantry stocked full. My family knows they can come and shop at our house for groceries. My 2 freezers are also full.

One thing that I've always done is fill my freezers with the best Healthy Choice frozen meals recommended by the Diabetes association. Also Marie Callenders frozen meals are reasonably priced and delicious.

And what better way to prepare for the kids being at home than to have Di'Giornio Pizza. They are the best if not making a pizza from scratch. Keeping all your spices and cooking ingredients well stocked is a must too. On last trip to the grocers, the frozen vegetables and meals were almost depleted.

We really do have to treat this as sort of the aftermath of a natural disaster where you have to shelter in place. Most people don't ever get to experience one. But I live on the Gulf Coast. Hurricanes, tornadoes, flooding are a norm. So I have to be prepared, especially during Hurricane Season, June 1 - Nov. 30.

Sounds like you are fully prepared for whatever may come! I suppose that's one good thing about living in an area with sometimes hostile weather patterns--you have definitely learned some good tips and tricks! Getting another freezer a few years ago was awesome to get me into doing more freezing and stocking up. I cook a lot of beans in big batches to freeze for later, and love going fruit picking to stock up, as well. Though I am a bit sad that it looks like this year we won't be able to go strawberry picking like we do every year. I'll have to get a big flat from some of my local growers to still be able to fill my freezer back up since we're down to the last few cups frozen from last year!

Good thing I stopped by to see the other entries to get ideas. Food/water never even crossed my mind 😂😂

Great picks, @justclickindiva

I think ours is not working properly anymore - it says our temperature is about 35 or 36 - seems a bit low if you ask me :o

Hey, it’s Q here - the mascot of the Your Top 3 Contest - just swinging by to say thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! I've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on my blog for the dpoll post!

Make sure you set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the HP and then transfer the HIVE and/or HBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @yourtop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Hive Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.011 HBD and 6.441 HIVE over to the @yourtop3 account as your entry fee. I take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

Q

image.png

Q Happy.png

Thanks for stopping by @yourtop3. Appreciate the upvote and reblog for exposure. I've got the routine down now in my 3rd participation in @yourtop3.

Someone asked me how to participate in this contest. I have engaged with this person over the past several months. I think she would be a great participant. How do I recommend her?

That's fantastic, @justclickindiva. We always love new contestants.

You can send them the link to the contest main post here: https://peakd.com/hive-186561/@yourtop3/your-top-3-monthly-contest-march-2020-what-are-your-top-3-lockdown-essentials

Give them the link to the discord here https://discord.gg/9Xt87xS

You will also receive a bonus for referring someone to the contest. :)

Great job on your post as well and good luck.

Gaz

es muy interesante, trataré de participar.

¿Desea participar en Su Top 3?

Creo que tendrías que publicar tus blogs en inglés.

O al menos proveer una traducción en tu blog.

Sólo hablo inglés.

Pero para comprometerme con la comunidad hispanohablante, uso un traductor en línea.

Por favor lee este blog, luego decide si quieres participar. Gracias por tu interés.
https://peakd.com/hive-186561/@yourtop3/your-top-3-monthly-contest-how-our-leagues-work

Debo decirles que este concurso implica una cuota de inscripción que usted paga cuando su post paga. Mira el comentario de @yourtop3 de arriba.

Okay, thank you very much for all the information you've given me, I'm going to read it well and then participate.