OFF THE TOP OF MY HEAD FRENCH TOAST - Do It Yourself During Stay-At-Home

in GEMS4 years ago

20200429_093451.jpg

Normally mid-week, I'd wake up and ready myself to go and have a sit down casual breakfast at our favorite local, small business restaurant. It's a lovely mom-and-pop diner we drive to because we love to patronize them. Their speciality is the breakfast menu. However, they can grill a mean burger and fries. I try my best to stay away from that menu.
I stick to my regular order of french toast, side of bacon, and decaf--black, no sugar. I haven't changed in over 20 years. It's just that good.
But when COVID-19 hit the city, they too became the victim of the stay-at-home. They shut down temporarily. We're waiting until it's safe to visit before we return.
I rarely attempt to reproduce excellent dishes I get at my favorite restaurants. They just never look or taste the same. But this morning, the urge was so strong that I just took a shot at it. No recipe. No measuring.

Just off the top of my head what my taste buds from the restaurant tell me it consists of:
  • 2 slices of bread (I prefer wheat)
  • 2 eggs
  • Milk (organic)
  • Nutmeg & Cinnamon
  • Vanilla

In a large, non-stick pan I heated some extra-virgin olive oil.
Meanwhile, I mixed together in a small bowl the eggs, some milk, spices, and vanilla until blended. Smelled great.

20200429_150727.jpg

20200429_150805.jpg

I dipped the bread in the egg mixture until it puffed up. I could see it swell and soak up the milk, eggs, and spices.

My pan now hot, I placed the soaked bread in it, one slice at a time.

20200429_092940.jpg

Looks great to me. I let it cook thoroughly on one side before flipping.

A puffy, golden brown french toast emerged. Sprinkled some powdered sugar on top. I added 2 strips of bacon and my favorite organic syrup.

20200429_093451.jpg

Then I poured myself a cup of decaf coffee and settled in for a good breakfast.
Quick and easy, and tasted delicious to me.
Not the same as my local restaurant, Annie's. Can't wait for it to reopen. Hope it's able to withstand the shutdown.
I've spent my carbs and calories for today, so only fruit and salad for the remainder. That's what happens when you give in to urges. But it was worth it.

@traciyork initiative: @nablopomo (day 30)

@flaxz initiative: @iamalivechallenge (Official Stay at Home Order [day 27]; My state is preparing to open back up for varied business sectors on May 1st; posted a blog for today.)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

StayHealthy.png

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.


SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's personalized PHC signature created by and purchased from PHC.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) Separator Lines Free ClipArt Belt from Public Domain Vectors & ShadedLine from ClipArt-Library
e) All Tribe logos used with permission of Tribe Discord Channel admins.

lineseparator.png

PictureFrame2.png

justclickindivaminnowimage.png

lineseparator.png

I SUPPORT THE FOLLOWING GROUPS:


Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png