Recommendation to Cancel My Family Reunion amidst COVID-19: Challenge-Stay Home; Share 3 Travel Photos (Day 25)

in GEMS4 years ago (edited)

CanvaAtHomeTravelPic.png

@psos
#travelathome
Challenge - Stay home, share 3 travel photos (day 25)

While sitting at the computer thinking about my family's upcoming reunion in the Fall of this year, I was sad to hear the recommendation that we not hold a reunion this year, but wait until 2021. No one knows what the situation will be next month, in the summer, or the fall.

But as a former member of the Reunion Committee in which I've since retired from, I know all options will be weighed for the safety of not only our immediate family, but also our entire extended family. Some travel from numerous states to attend our two-day function each year. In fact, last year, we had over 300 in attendance. The health and safety of our seniors and children are of primary concern.

It would be a daunting task in the midst of this health crisis to try and monitor each family member. With that in mind, I thought about the more than 75 young children under the age of 12 that would be in attendance.

Before I realized it, I was scrolling through photos of previous reunions. Seeing the children having so much fun brought a smile.

I decided photos of one of my previous family reunions was fitting for the stay home challenge. The three travel photographs I choose and complied a collage to share for today are for:

MY FAMILY REUNION, TEXAS

With the younger generation in mind, our reunion committee put together a fun-filled weekend. I wanted to make sure the children looked forward to this event each year. I distribute school supplies, snacks, and drinks. We even rent a moonwalk.

Copy of Copy of White  Black Modern Coffee Quote Photo Collage.png
The fun of playing with other cousins and collecting prizes for winning games such as sack races and volleyball is what gets them excited about attending each year.

But the most fun for the kids, teens, and their parents is the face painting. Each child wants their picture taken with their unique design. Having a vendor travel to the reunion site is the highlight of the day for them. They all wait with anticipation, and hardly allow her to set up her station before jostling for position be the first in line. We haven't spoken to the vendor yet, but I'm sure she will have safety concerns also.

Copy of White  Black Modern Coffee Quote Photo Collage2.png

It's such a beautiful, serene place to hold a reunion. The country atmosphere feels as though it's drawing you back to a simpler time where the pace of life isn't hectic. We have good food, fun, and renewed family bonds with family we may not have seen in a while.

The adults have fun also as we hold BINGO games, auctions, and a charity donation booth to assist any family members who may be in need. Our motto is that compassion begins with your own family. We also honor our eldest family members over the age of 90 years. We actually had one family member who was 102 at the time. She has since passed.

These are the good times I remember.
White  Black Modern Coffee Quote Photo Collage1.png

Just because we currently can't go out of our homes doesn't mean we can't enjoy life still. Why not relive those beautiful moments we spent with family, friends, hiking, camping, road trips, and whatever we did to live life to the fullest.

I know we all remember; and @psos is allowing us to relive those memories with three travel photographs of previous ventures. Let's remember the good times today. This is what I did.

Hope you enjoyed re-visiting my family reunions with me.

@traciyork initiative: @nablopomo (day 25)

@flaxz initiative: @iamalivechallenge (Official Stay at Home Order [day 22]; My April 30-day challenge is now five days away from completion; saddened to learn today another family member in another city has been infected with COVID-19. This brings the total to 5; blogged about my day)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

StayHealthy.png

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.


SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's personalized PHC signature created by and purchased from PHC.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) Separator Lines Free ClipArt Belt from Public Domain Vectors & ShadedLine from ClipArt-Library
e) All Tribe logos used with permission of Tribe Discord Channel admins.
f) All collages made in Canva by me utilizing it's free photo collage template.

lineseparator.png

PictureFrame2.png

justclickindivaminnowimage.png

lineseparator.png

I SUPPORT THE FOLLOWING GROUPS:

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Over 300 people wow, thats so much family and one member 102 years young my heavens. It’s a pity that it’s not possible this year but indeed safety first , where are you in the pictures 😉

Hi @bittandojosie. Thanks for stopping by. Yes, we have lots of family show each year. I'm in the 2nd picture where I'm setting up the kid's table with their "goodie" bags. I donate each year the school supplies, games, gifts, and prizes.

The family member who was 102 lived o the age of 110. She didn't look a day over 80. Her dad lived to be 100. Longevity runs in that branch. I guess country living was the key.

Nice family union you had...have a safe life

I am sorry you do not get to have a reunion Chris, and also about another family member sick in the Corona, lets hope they all get better and that you can have a great reuinion next year, stay safe, awesome and alive.


#IAmAliveChallenge join us on Discord, and check out our Hive Community.


Made in Canva