Awesome Quarantine Moments; I Had A Bond Strengthen Moment With My Dad

in GEMS4 years ago

Hello everyone, hope I meet you all doing good?

It was a cool Sunday afternoon when my Dad walked into my room, requesting that he needed my power bank to power up his dead smartphone battery. I reached for the power bank on my working desk and passed it to him. He was already sitting on my bed by then. He received the power bank and plugged in his smartphone to charge. He lay down on my bed while he waited for his smartphone to get charged to some certain percent. Few minutes later, we engaged in a conversation.

He firstly started by sharing with me his need for a new smartphone, in which I immediately agreed and promised him we would go to the phone store the following day to get a new one. I told him a little about the smartphone I had in mind and it's specs, and also showed him a review of it on YouTube just to ensure he was pleased with the choice I made. He his someone who doesn't like phone screen sizes above 5.5inches. After we concluded on that, another topic popped in, which I guess I started. We began to discuss about technologies in general and also in relation to my field of study.

We kept on discussing and switch from one topic to the other until I got totally carried away with what I was doing on my smartphone. We talked for over thirty (30) minutes, until he decided to check how far his smartphone has charged. He checked and was amazed by how far it has charged. I told him jokingly that's how advance the technology we have talked about has gone. He then decided to leave it a little more to get to a certain percent be he unplugs it. He tried to engaged me in a conversation again, but at this time I was already carried away with what l was doing on my smartphone. He was already raising intriguing questions such as what do I do often holding and operating my smartphone.

You know an African parent style of ending a conversation right? Yeah, the one which conclude with advises and conceit. That's where he was heading 😅. He advised and cautioned me about several things concerning the internet, in which I wont bother to bore you about again by stating them because you all are already familiar with most of them. Well, I made him understood he was right and I also made him know I'm been objective with my purpose on the internet, and I also try my possible best to do away with the so negative sides of the internet. I could read in his facial expression that he was pleased with himself and my response to him. Even after all, he wasn't still satisfied to stop there 😅. He unplugged his smartphone from the power bank and faced me asking if we could take a walk together. I firstly answered with a 'No'. But later agreed to go with him cause I remembered I've been totally indoor throughout the previous week without stepping out of the compound.


He left my room to get a clothe that's suitable for the outside, while I also get dressed up. We were done in no time and we immediately set out to begin our walk. We walked round our estate and linked to two other different estates. My Dad is someone who likes to walk long distance. We walked and talked about for over two hours. It was going to be the first long chat/discussion I had with my dad durning this period of the lockdown.

We reflected on several memories of eight (8) to ten (10) years ago while we walked. I wish I could discuss them here again 😂. We also discussed about the ongoing situation of the country and some of its effects, and lot more.

**Below are some pictures I took during our walk.**

The street and major roads were all empty due to the ongoing lockdown.


Hotels and Even centers still remains closed.

One of the best things I'll complement the government for doing so far during the lockdown. They have taken time to speed up the construction of this road that has been damaged for over six (6) years.


In all, I was happy for the moment we shared together that day, and I wish I would get to have something like it again before the coronavirus pandemic gets over. Because immediately the pandemic gets totally over I'll return back to school and only God know when next I'll be home for this long 😅.

Having to share some intimate and intriguing moment with ones parents is one experience a child shouldn't be denied of while growing up. It helps to strengthen the bonds between a child and the parent and also gives the child that satisfaction that he/she can confide in them in whatever situation or case it maybe. I'm grateful to God for blessing me with such an opportunity too.

...

THANKS FOR VISITING MY HIVE BLOG
BEST REGARDS

Sort:  

#posh twitter link -

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by by @nathyortiz on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening