How I Stay Away From That Dirty Four-Letter Word - SALE

in GEMS3 years ago

You think you are only going to get that one thing on sale, and then spiral against gravity into the rabbit hole, grabbing all kinds of everything on the pretext you are saving money.
For years, the Sale Season hits, and I’m out the door like a gazelle. Imagine running 73 feet per second - yip! That’d be me.

1.png

I had a problem. First I bought stuff only for me, then the kids, the hubs, mum. I just bought and bought. If I like a top, I got them in all colours. If there was a cute Tee-Shirt, all 3 boys must get the same. My favourite buying sprees were for my daughter. I bought her so many clothes, that she told me to stop because her closet was a mess with clothes overflowing, half she never even wore once. The first time she chose her own clothes to buy? she was 17! Good thing she didn't like shopping and now I wonder if I turned her off with my obsessive buying.

It took me losing my job to step back and evaluated this "need" to shop. I thought buying things would make me happier. But guess what? Now I have no money to buy unnecessary things and I am as happy as I used to be then.

Yes!! My happiness wasn't tied to stuff. I pursued a more purpose-driven life, I started focusing more on experience and learning than material stuff. The short-term effects of having nice things are fleeting, but the long-term satisfaction is real. It was time to stop and these are 3 things I practice when I feel myself lapse:-

Don’t Believe The Hype
It’s never like it is seen on TV. I’ve only fallen for it 376 times. And still, mind you, just last night I looked at stuff on Shoppe and Lazada and my heart did a little skippity-skip thinking of 6.6. Oh, and just because all my friends bought it and are raving, I don't need to jump on that train just because...

Don’t Need, Don’t Buy
It is so easy to fall for the sale party lines. Buy one and get the second one at 50%. The question is do I need the first one to begin with? If I don't need it then, my poor heart...

Don’t Horde
Oh, the things I’ve bought, and the things I’ve given away with labels intact, unused. Stuff that has expired its shelf life. Now I only buy as and when unless the item has a longer shelf life than how much time it will take for me to get around to using it provided I have already ticked box number 2.

So I won’t say, I am completely cured of this mindless buying, because did you see that pan that is scratch proof and cooks healthy food, and that exercise machine that will give you abs in 2 weeks, ooooh and those buy now, stay later vacation deals?

It is tough saying no to that dirty word... but I have managed the 6.6 sales so far, another 7 hours to go. What about you? Bought anything?;p

Thank you for reading,
Till next time, Carpe Diem!
Sh33la

Image from pexels.com: Photo by Karolina Grabowska

Sort:  

Yes!! My happiness wasn't tied to stuff. I pursued a more purpose-driven life, I started focusing more on experience and learning than material stuff. The short-term effects of having nice things are fleeting, but the long-term satisfaction is real. It was time to stop and these are 3 things I practice when I feel myself lapse:-

@kaerpediem that is the right thing to di


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I am a lot better at saying no to things I want but don't really need
Thank you for dropping in @lettingo :D

SALE has lost it's meaning in a heavily marketed world. I ignore it all, unless I truly, truly want the item.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

I hope to get there soon

My curiosity gets the better of me and then the next thing I know, there are all these things that will make my life better - Not! :D

Awesome post! I'm not that I buy a lot of unnecessary things, but I do fall very often for those "50% discount" things in those old-time paper catalogs... And I know that in 98% of the cases those prices are pumped a week before the sale and dumped after, but still...
Anyways, lately, I google most of the stuff from catalogs before, to see if that is the REAL SALE, or just a trick... lol... Small steps... :)


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project and it will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's why good marketers are so important to a company
The words, mood and feel they spin, if good, can really suck you in

Oh, and thank you :D

The worse is online sales, 2696 sold in the past 24 hours, 834 people looking at this now, 2 hours 38 minutes till the sale ends....

I am glad I am not in that stats hehe

Well, I try to avoid it but sometimes I can't... I buy but only necessary things but sometimes I can't avoid or hold myself buying unnecessary clothes and accessories...

I believe you - the struggle is real
In my younger days, shopping unnecessarily was not a thing
I only got here over time and exposure to different lifestyles :D

LOL, that made me laugh. I haven't bought anything in a long time. I think three months ago I bought two meat cleavers as mine have become blunt. I believe in minimalism l have been going with three pairs of outside clothes and three for home for a year and a half now.
Sale or no sale I don't buy, only need prompts me to buy and that too only dire need. . Hope you hold off for those remaining hours. ;D

Glad it gave you a laugh :D
I haven't bought clothes in a long time... but there's no need for it anyways
But I have bought that kitchen gadget or this accessory to vlog/blog better😏...
Yesterday I looked around the house and wondered what the kids will do with all my 'junk' that I have accumulated over the years... it's going to be a nightmare for them (speaking from experience with Mum)
So, yes no more buying - stop, stop, stop
I read so much on minimalism and this is one of the reasons why I am working so hard on not buying things unnecessarily
I am WIP

Ahhh! Super relatable! I also got to that stage of mindless shopping sometime in my life. 😁

The struggle is real
But not anymore I can say... hopefully for you too :D

Now, maybe a different kind... like crypto kind ahahaha

Yeah, it's over for me as well. Lol. I don't shop online and the only time I get to step in the mall is when I have to do grocery shopping. Though I'd say when it comes to food I am not afraid to spend. "A full pantry is what makes me happy," that's what I told my hubby. haha

I don't stinge on food either
I wouldn't do stupid but The Hubs is always telling me I spoil the kids...
But I am like, it's food - it's okay
When I have money I buy them the salmon or the steak... no money then hey
And they are good kids, they don't complain... they eat what there is :D
So, I'm with you on the food :D

By the way, The Hubs also doesn't stinge on food really

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Thank you fambalam <3

Maybe when I was single, but, not now. However, I did buy my girls more outfits as they started getting old enough to enjoy them, but, realized I was teaching them bad habits. Like, no respect for money.

I enjoy a good sale if I am looking for something, but, I am not lured by those words. I truly dislike the buy! buy! buy! mentality the internet feeds us.

Run away from it! Look at all the money you save!

Because it is so fun to buy clothes for girls hehehe
My daughter... she is so frugal, it borders on stingy... I don't know where she got that from... definitely not from me or her dad.
So, now you've mentioned the lack of respect for money... yes, I can see that and good thing it bypassed her
The boys on the other hand...especially the youngest, he is something else

Yes, run away is a good plan - now just do not open those apps
and skip all those ads that find their way to your social media feeds ;D

I click on none!!! They are only trouble! :)

It really is fun to buy clothes for girls!!!