Song of the day (#01) - Canción del dia (#01)

in GEMS4 years ago

SONG OF THE DAY

CANCIÓN DEL DÍA

610B3636-A624-4C09-8422-7801DDF05496.jpeg

Hello everyone, I hope you are very well. As I had told you in a previous post, I'm going to start diversifying my content a bit to show more about myself than just my love for cooking. My love for music is even greater and from today I want to start sharing a song with you every day. With each song that I share, I will be telling you a little about why it is so special to me, as well as a little of the history that I know behind each song. I hope you enjoy this new challenge that I have set myself to share a song with you every day.

Hola a todas y todos, espero que estén muy bien. Como les había comentado en una publicación anterior, voy a comenzar a diversificar un poco mi contenido para mostrar más de mí que solo mi amor por la cocina. Mi amor por la música es aún mayor y desde hoy quiero comenzar a compartirles una canción cada día. Con cada canción que comparta, les iré comentando un poco de por qué es tan especial para mí, así como un poco de la historia que conozca detrás de cada canción. Espero que disfruten este nuevo reto que me he colocado de compartirles una canción cada día.

Today I wanted to start with a song by a woman that I admire very much. The great Janis Joplin, who although she had a short musical career, left us an extraordinary legacy and the way she interpreted each song was practically as if she had left us her soul in each one of them. From her beginnings with Big Brother & The Holding Company, Janis has amazed with her energy on stage and the ability to make any song her own.

Hoy quise comenzar con una canción de una mujer que admiro muchísimo. La grandiosa Janis Joplin, que aunque tuvo una corta carrera musical, nos dejó un legado extraordinario y la forma en que interpretó cada tema fue prácticamente como si nos hubiese dejado su alma en cada una de ellas. Desde sus inicios con Big Brother & The Holding Company, Janis sorprendió con su energía en el escenario y la capacidad de hacer suya cualquier canción.

In this case, today I want to share with you a song in particular that I really like. This is "Get It While You Can", which was part of her last studio album "Pearl". It is a song that I think is very adapted to these days, since it tells us about the importance of clinging to love, even more so in a world so convulsed, which is something that applies perfectly to these days of pandemic. Love, in all its facets, is something we all need to hold onto, and that includes self-love.

En este caso, hoy les quiero compartir una canción en particular que me gusta muchísimo. Se trata de "Get It While You Can", que fue parte de su último disco de estudio "Pearl". Es una canción que creo que se adapta mucho a estos días, ya que nos habla de la importancia de aferrarnos al amor, más aún en un mundo tan convulsionado, que es algo que aplica perfectamente a estos días de pandemia. El amor, en todas sus facetas, es algo a lo que todos debemos aferrarnos, y eso incluye el amor propio.

I used to listen to this song a lot at my house in Venezuela, as well as the rest of the world. It is a jewel that perhaps did not receive the recognition it deserved, since like all artists, there are always songs that stand out more for their commercial success, leaving other works of art overshadowed. The success of songs like "Piece Of My Heart", "Summertime" or "Me & Bobby Mcgee" is something that we can still observe, especially when Janis continues to be cited as one of the greatest influences for many artists today.

Esta canción la solía escuchar muchísima en mi casa en Venezuela, así como también el resto del mundo. Es una joya que tal vez no recibió el reconocimiento que merecía, ya que como todos los artistas, siempre hay canciones que resaltan más por su éxito comercial, dejando opacadas a otras obras de arte. El éxito de temas como "Piece Of My Heart", "Summertime" o "Me & Bobby Mcgee" es algo que todavía podemos observar, sobretodo cuando Janis sigue siendo citada como una de las mayores influencias para muchos artistas actualmente.

I hope you listen and enjoy this great song. Janis left everything to us every time she was on stage and in the studio, and that way she will never die. Here I share my first selection for "song of the day". Enjoy it.

Espero que escuchen y disfruten esta gran canción. Janis nos dejó todo cada vez que estuvo en el escenario y en el estudio, y de esa manera jamás morirá. Acá les comparto mi primera selección para "canción del día". Disfrutenla.

JANIS JOPLIN - GET IT WHILE YOU CAN

In this world, if you read the papers, Lord,
You know everybody's fighting on with each other.
You got no one you can count on, baby,
Not even your own brother.
So if someone comes along,
He's gonna give you some love and affection
I'd say get it while you can, yeah!
Honey, get it while you can,
Hey, hey, get it while you can,
Don't you turn your back on love, no, no!

Don't you know when you're loving anybody, baby,
You're taking a gamble on a little sorrow,
But then who cares, baby,
'Cause we may not be here tomorrow, no.
And if anybody should come along,
He gonna give you any love and affection,
I'd say get it while you can, yeah!
Hey, hey, get it while you can,
Hey, hey, get it while you can.
Don't you turn your back on love,
No no no, no no no no no.

Oh, get it while you can,
Honey get it when you're gonna wanna need it dear, yeah yeah,
Hey hey, get it while you can,
Don't you turn your back on love,
No no no, no no no no, get it while you can,
I said hold on to somebody when you get a little lonely, dear,
Hey hey, hold on to that man's heart,
Yeah, get it, want it, hold it, need it,
Get it, want it, need it, hold it,
Get it while you can, yeah,
Honey get it while you can, baby, yeah,
Hey hey, get it while you can!

Sort:  

Muy buena...😘

Muchas gracias 💚💚